The Big Pink Release 'Empire Underground' EP Today

Today, The Big Pink released their highly anticipated "Empire Underground" EP, now available on iTunes, Amazon, Spotify and on Vinyl worldwide from today.

The EP has seen a welcome return for U.K duo with coverage spanning from the likes of Zane Lowe's Beats 1 World Exclusive for their new single "Decoy" and KCRW's 'Top Tune' for lead single "Hightimes," as well a surge of press support from the likes of Pitchfork, The FADER, NME, Stereogum, Consequence of Sound, SPIN Magazine, NYLON Magazine, ANTHEM and many more!

iTunes | Amazon | Spotify | Vinyl

Currently the band is on the road for their headlining tour in North America, having played to a full-house in New York last week, the band are working their way along the east coast and will be playing shows in sunny Austin, Texas this month for SXSW Music Festival. The tour wraps on the west coast next month and will also see them playing with rock n' roll duo The Kills.

Originally, Robbie Furze and Milo Cordell formed The Big Pink back in 2008. Having released a low-key single on unknown independent House Anxiety in 2008, the band's rising star drew the attention of 4AD, penning a worldwide deal with the label in early 2009. Ignoring the pressure that befits such music industry hype, the band eloped to the Electric Lady Studios in New York to record and self-produce what was to become their epic debut album, "A Brief History of Love." The band were swiftly rewarded for their hard work and won yet another NME Award for their breakthrough single "Dominos" as Best Track in 2010.

The Big Pink's second album, "Future This," was recorded over the summer of 2011. The band worked with producer Paul Epworth (Adele, Florence & The Machine, Friendly Fires) to help them match their high ambitions. The end result did exactly that, adding more shades to The Big Pink palette, rewarding both them and listener for their patience.

Both "A Brief History of Love" and "Future This," reached Top 10 status in the U.S Billboard Heatseekers and Tastemakers Album Charts.

The Big Pink is now formed of founder Robbie Furze, Mary Charteris, Free Hallas and Jesse Russell. Currently on the road, the band has also been busy writing and recordining their eagerly anticipated third full-length album which is due later in the year.

"Empire Underground" features contributors Andrew Wyatt (Miike Snow), Dave McCraken (producer of Ian brown), Robert Been (Black Rebel Motorcycle Club) and was mixed by the legendary Alan Moulder.

03/04 - Marble Bar - Detroit, MI**
03/05 - Rumba Cafe - Columbus, OH**
03/06 - Duck Room - St. Louis, MO**
03/07 - Subterranean - Chicago, IL**
03/09 - Frequency - Madison, WI**
03/10 - Rave Bar - Milwaukee, WI
03/11 - Turf Club - Minneapolis, MN**
03/12 - Vega - Lincoln, NE**
03/13 - Bottleneck - Kansas City**
03/16 - Reeperbahn Festival Official Showcase @ Lucille @ SXSW - Austin, TX - TIME TBA
03/16 - Austin Waterloo Road @ SXSW - Austin, TX - 03:00PM
03/17 - Austin Tuned In @ Easy Tiger @ SXSW - Austin TX -10:45PM
03/18 - Austin Hotel Vegas @ SXSW - Austin, TX - 03:50PM
04/18 - Mayan - Los Angeles, CA*
04/19 - Observatory - Santa Ana, CA*
04/20 - Soda Bar - San Diego, CA+
04/22 - Pop Scene @ Rickshaw Stop - San Francisco, CA+
04/23 - Dante's - Portland, OR+
04/24 - Neumo's - Seattle, WA+
04/25 - Biltmore Cabaret - Vancouver, Canada+
*Supporting The Kills
**w/ guests The Heirs
+ Headlining + supporting guests TBC

1. Hightimes
2. Decoy
3. Beautiful Criminal
4. Empire Underground

Official Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Soundcloud | YouTube

Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You