This Friday, March 16, on his 40th birthday, legendary LA rapper MURS will be releasing his new LP, A Strange Journey Into The Unimaginable, the most personal body of work the MC has ever created.

Yesterday, MURS dropped this mini music video for the opening cut off the album, "The Unimaginable" feat Robots&Balloons. CLICK HERE to watch the video.

MURS will also be performing a sold out concert at The Roxy Theatre in West Hollywood, CA on Friday, March 16th to celebrate the album release and birthday milestone.

A Strange Journey Into The Unimaginable catalogs the most trying four years of the acclaimed MC's life. From the dissolution of his marriage and his mother falling ill to the tragic stillbirth of his son, MURS emerges with a poignant, powerful, and poetic body of work. Produced exclusively by Stange Music in-house production impresario Seven, the record features a powerhouse guest list with Tech N9ne on "Same Way",Fashawn & Prof on "G Lollipops," Propaganda on "Powerful," John Givez on "Midtown," XV on"Whiskey & Patron," and more in addition to contributions from musicians such as Patrick Page [The Internet], punk rock icon Chuck Treece [McRad], and Dear White People composer Kris Bowers, among others.

Check out the full tracklisting below.

About the album, MURS comments, "You don't really know who you are until you hit rock bottom. I'm reaffirming that I'm not broken. After everything happened, I had nothing I wanted to say musically. I was in the midst of so much s that I really couldn't speak on where I was...Because I didn't know where I was. November was seven-and-a-half months after my son died. I spent the summer with my oldest son. I was getting back to normal little by little. I thought I could stay at the bottom and wallow, but I had Strange Music reserve the release date two years ago. They pressed me to stick to the deadline. It worked. I've always made vulnerable music and been through some things. However, it was nothing like the last four years. So, I screamed back into the abyss."

Seven adds, "MURS is an artist that I've always wanted to work with, but never thought I'd get the opportunity. So, being able to make this album with him was a big deal to me. I tried to produce it from a fan's perspective-just trying to make the songs I would want to hear him on. I thought that approach made it feel inspired. It's a personal body of work forth of us, and it was therapeutic. It's definitely something new and different for my career."

About MURS:

For over two decades, MURS has fearlessly rapped with power, poise, and purpose. Picking up a mic in high school, he founded 3 Melancholy Gypsys before logging time in influential West Coast collective Living Legends. Following his 1997 solo debut F'Real, he unleashed a string of underground classics, including The End of the Beginning for EL-P's Definitive Jux [2003], the major label breakout Murs for President [2008], and the critically acclaimed Have A Nice Life [2015]. The latter earned praise from the likes of Pitchfork,HipHopDX, and XXL who wrote, "Murs utilizes the full arsenal of his skills to craft an album with the same passion as an artist introducing himself to the world for the first time." Most recently, 2017's Captain Californiamaintained that momentum and went Top 25 on the Billboard Independent Albums Chart.

Simultaneously, he remains the consummate "rapper's rapper." Between six lauded collaborative releases with 9th Wonder, he joined forces with Sacha Jenkins and iconic Bad Brains bassist Daryl Jennifer in The White Mandingos and shared bars with everybody from Kendrick Lamar and E-40 to Snoop Dogg and Warren G. 2016 saw him make history by setting a Guinness World Record by "Rapping for 24 Hours Non-Stop" during a livestream. Entering the studio in November 2017 with producer Michael "Seven" Summers, a series of trials and tribulations triggered the 14 songs comprising his 15th full-length and fourth for Strange Music, the aptly titled A Strange Journey Into The Unimaginable-which drops on his fortieth birthday March 16, 2018.


1. "The Unimaginable" [feat. Robots&Balloons]

2. "Melancholy"

3. "Midtown" [feat. John Givez]

4. "Same Way" [feat. Tech N9ne]

5. "Powerful" [feat. Propaganda]

6. "G Lollipops" [feat. Fashawn & Prof]

7. "Superhero Pool Party"

8. "Whiskey & Patron" [feat. XV]

9. "A Lean Story"

10. "Lo-Fi Nights"

11. "So Close So Far"

12. "Celebrate"

13. "Vows"

14. "God Is The Greatest"

For more info on MURS

Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You