Little Big town To Be Honored At Grammys On The Hill Awards 4/18

Article Pixel

Little Big town To Be Honored At Grammys On The Hill Awards 4/18

Representatives from the worlds of music and politics will come together at the Recording Academy™'s 2018 GRAMMYs on the Hill® Awards on April 18 to celebrate 20 years of advocacy in D.C. by the Recording Academy and to honor Karen Fairchild, Kimberly Schlapman, Phillip Sweet, and Jimi Westbrook of three-time GRAMMY®-winning group, Little Big Town. Little Big Town's contributions to the music industry align with some of the Recording Academy's key advocacy and organizational causes, including advocating for music education and supporting MusiCares®, a charity founded by the Academy that provides a safety net of support for the music community. The Recording Academy will also recognizeRep. Judy Chu (D-Calif.) and Rep. Doug Collins (R-Ga.) for their work on improving the environment for music by advocating for music creators' rights.

The following day, the Recording Academy will host the annual GRAMMYs on the Hill Advocacy Day, Capitol Hill's largest and most prestigious legislative event for music creators. As music creators meet with members of Congress, they will advocate in support of the Music Modernization Act of 2018 (H.R. 5447), the biggest update to music law in 40 years, as well as other initiatives that support the future of music and modernize music law.

Honoree: Little Big Town
Master of ceremonies: Peter Asher
Performances by Little Big Town; Latin GRAMMY®-winning singer/songwriter Erika Ender, co-writer of "Despacito"; and 14-time GRAMMY-winning singer and producer Jerry Douglas.

Joined by more than 60 members of Congress, confirmed attendees include GRAMMY-winning producer Peter Asher, GRAMMY-nominated rapper Bun B, Marcus and Jean Baylor of the GRAMMY-nominated R&B band the Baylor Project, GRAMMY-nominated composer and arranger John Beasley, singer/songwriter Marc Broussard, GRAMMY-winning singer Tina Campbell of gospel duo Mary Mary, Recording Academy Trustee, record producer, and engineer Mike Clink, Brann Dailor and Bill Kelliher of GRAMMY-winning metal band Mastodon, GRAMMY-nominated hip hop record producer Patrick "9th Wonder" Denard Douthit, Recording Academy Chief Industry, Government and Member Relations Officer Daryl Friedman, GRAMMY-winning producer and engineer David Frost, GRAMMY-nominated contemporary Christian artist Danny Gokey, GRAMMY-winning singer/songwriter and producer Anthony Hamilton of GRAMMY-nominated R&B band the Hamiltones, GRAMMY-nominated producer Scott "Tycho" Hansen, GRAMMY-nominated organist and songwriter Charles Hodges of the band Hi Rhythm, John Driskell Hopkins of the GRAMMY-winning Zac Brown Band, GRAMMY-nominated country music artist Jack Ingram, GRAMMY-winning producer and songwriter Rodney "Darkchild" Jerkins, singer/songwriter and entertainer Robert Earl Keen, GRAMMY-winning singer/songwriter Lisa Loeb, GRAMMY-nominated rapper Remy Ma, Kaitlin McGaw of GRAMMY-nominated group Alphabet Rockers, GRAMMY-winning songwriter, producer, and engineer Lawrence "Boo" Mitchell, GRAMMY-winning singer/songwriter Fantastic Negrito, saxophonist Keith Nieto of Mexican music group La Maquinaria Norteña, singer/songwriter and producer Josh Ostrander of rock band Mondo Cozmo, GRAMMY-nominated songwriter Shelly Peiken, Recording Academy Chair John Poppo, Recording Academy President/CEO Neil Portnow, GRAMMY-nominated singer/songwriter Justin Roberts, and keyboardist Ben Tanner of GRAMMY-winning blues rock band Alabama Shakes.

The GRAMMYs on the Hill Awards are sponsored by music rights organization SESAC.

Image courtesy of Little Big Town Official Facebook

Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You