Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Liam Gallagher Shares New Live Video 'For What It's Worth' Filmed at AIR Studios

As the eagerly anticipated October 6th release of his debut solo album As You Were draws near, the iconic Liam Gallagher shares a new live performance of "For What It's Worth." Watch "For What It's Worth (Live at AIR Studios)"

Filmed at AIR Studios in London and backed by his live band and a string section, the live performance finds Liam's towering vocal soaring skyward on a song that serves up the biggest chorus of the album.

The studio version of the track was produced by Dan Grech-Marguerat and written by Liam with Simon Jons. NME highlighted it in their Best New Tracks feature and commented: "Liam goes full Oasis ballad on this emotive powerhouse of a tune. One for festival fields and arenas." Rolling Stone agreed and stated: "'For What It's Worth' bears the hallmarks of a classic Oasis track like 'Don't Look Back In Anger'."

"I wanted to write an apology," says Liam. "Not to one person, but to everyone, because I'm no good at saying sorry. That song is a tune."

With his famous vocal and irrepressible charisma dominating his life-affirming live shows, Liam Gallagher's comeback is fully capturing the public's imagination. The three tracks that previewed the album - "Wall Of Glass," "Chinatown" and "For What It's Worth" - have already been streamed more than 22 million times. The new songs have made an instant and indelible impact:

"'Chinatown' is as plucky and sweet as 'Wall Of Glass,' is brash and aggressive. Gallagher's full-length will have plenty of stylistic diversity... top notch." - Entertainment Weekly

"'Chinatown' has a lovely psych vibe sparser and prettier than many Oasis songs." - Paste

"'Wall of Glass' is stadium-scaled rock, packed full of distorted riffs. A return to form" - Spin

Liam wrote or co-wrote every song that is featured on As You Were. In addition to Dan Grech-Marguerat, other key collaborators include Greg Kurstin and Andrew Wyatt. One of the most striking aspects of the album is that all the songs have a purpose. There's no flab, nothing to cut. They all feel directed at something or someone, setting the record straight and reflecting his lyrical point of view.

The tracklisting for As You Were is:

1. Wall Of Glass
2. Bold
3. Greedy Soul
4. Paper Crown
5. For What It's Worth
6. When I'm In Need
7. You Better Run
8. I Get By
9. Chinatown
10. Come Back To Me
11. Universal Gleam
12. I've All I Need

Bonus tracks on deluxe editions of the album:

13. Doesn't Have To Be That Way
14. All My People / All Mankind
15. I Never Wanna Be Like You

As You Were is now available to pre-order here with 'Wall Of Glass', 'Chinatown' and 'For What It's Worth' provided as instant downloads. It will be released on digital (standard and deluxe), CD (standard and deluxe) and vinyl (standard 12" and limited edition coloured 12" formats).
A special boxset is also available here. It compiles a coloured 12" vinyl of the album, an exclusive 7" format of "For What It's Worth," a print designed by Klaus Voorman (the artist behind The Beatles' Revolver album cover) and additional collectors' items.
As previously announced, Liam Gallagher and band will tour North America this fall:
Nov 13 San Francisco, CA Warfield
Nov 18 Denver, CO Gothic SOLD OUT
Nov 20 Minneapolis, MN First Avenue
Nov 21 Chicago, IL The Riviera
Nov 23 Toronto, ON Rebel
Nov 25 Boston, MA House of Blues
Nov 27 New York, NY Terminal 5
Nov 29 Washington, DC Lincoln TheatreSOLD OUT
Nov 30 Philadelphia, PA Union Transfer SOLD OUT
Additional information to be revealed soon. Until then visit:

Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You