Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

David Messier's 'TV is Better Than Love' Video Debut with Paste Magazine

David Messier's 'TV is Better Than Love' Video Debut with Paste Magazine

The multi-talented, Austin based artist David Messier is set to release his sophomore album this fall. A Trustee of the Recording Academy, Messier, is an esteemed music industry leader, accomplished producer, entrepreneur, singer and songwriter. Austin Chroniclehas hailed Messier as an "expanse of talent and ideas" and KUTX said, "Messier is a hurricane force of music." With all of his successful moments, he likes to live by the ethos that life is always happening in front of you, and doesn't often look back. So, when it came time to write the forthcoming album, he uncharacteristically and quite unexpectedly, captured his most reflective moments. The new album, Time Bomb, is one of his most honest introspective creations to date and it is due out November 2nd.

Messier has an extraordinary ability to hear music in everything. And not just the rhythms that occur in everyday life, full songs can come crashing in unexpectedly, melody, lyrics and all. The raw creative energy is something he can't control and must record even simply on his phone. It was from these recordings that Messier found the inspiration for the new album, Time Bomb. He partnered with longtime bandmate, Dave Madden to help fine tune the songs and worked with Andre Cantave, studio engineer, to capture them. It took Messier 22 days to write and record the album at Same Sky Productions, his recording studio in East Austin. The album was mixed by four time Grammy award winner Chris Shaw (Bob Dylan, Wilco, Weezer, Modest Mouse, Public Enemy).

The 11 tracks on the album are all standouts. Among them is the lead single, "Television is Better than Love." It is a playful track and a commentary on our cultural obsession with TV. Messier says, "It's a play on binge-watching. How we are all consuming in such massive quantities. I wanted to make a playful love song about television, and the chorus is the harsh reality, television is better than love." While recording this track Madden came into the studio with an old TV, Messier recalls, "I looked at the TV and said, "Let's record it!" And we ended up using the television as a drum on the recording. The three of us played the TV, banging on it, turning it off and on, and dragging a stick across it, like a güiro." The TV/instrument has an appearance in music video for "Television is Better than Love."

"Time Bomb," the title track, is a guitar heavy track based on a Wurlitzer lick from Messier's phone recordings. The track continuously builds tension by changing keys seven times. Messier explains, "Life is a time bomb. We all walk around with little clocks counting backwards above our heads that no one can see - Who would want to?! I don't want to know."

The last single to be released ahead of the new album will be "It's Alive." True to Messier's distinct music style, "It's Alive" takes a dark turn when a lie is no longer just words. It can feel like it takes on a life of its own. He says, "Telling a lie is like creating Frankenstein's monster. You create it in an underground lab and then try to bring it out into the world and it doesn't go so well." "Viper" is a Tex-Mex rock ballad that spins a story of murder and love. Messier wrote "Mansion" for his wife and sings about building their life together, a beautiful ditty that they danced to at their wedding. "Get Over It" is a reflection from a time when boozing and drugs were the way of a young Messier's rockstar lifestyle. Reflecting back, Messier says, "I got out of hand, I was difficult, it went on way too long and did a lot of damage. And I remember thinking everyone was overreacting." Messier explains, "I've got to be honest and say how I felt at the time and I felt like saying "Get Over It!" It's not entirely how I feel about it now but there will be other songs for that."

"I don't have much of a rearview mirror. I didn't realize it at the time, but this is the most self-reflective record I've made." - David Messier

He will be supporting his new record with performances around central Texas in listening rooms near you. Be sure to follow him here, and watch for his upcoming performances here.

02 - Austin, Texas @ Waterloo Records
03 - Austin, Texas @ One-2-One Bar


Track Listing:

  1. "Television is Better than Love"
  2. "I Want You to Move Me"
  3. "No Escape"
  4. "A Man Who Love You"
  5. "It's Alive"
  6. "Just Like Me"
  7. "Time Bomb"
  8. "Get Over It"
  9. "Numbers"
  10. "Viper"
  11. "Mansion"

Eli Brown Pays Homage to 90S Acid House With New Single Be the One Photo
On “Be The One,” Eli Brown arrives brandishing his signature dark visceral production to deliver a track that encapsulates feelings of longing and lust. Romantic in its fabric yet fashioned for the energetic dance floors of any underground rave, “Be The One” builds on Eli Brown’s subversive approach to making future-forward Techno.

Tiggi Hawke and Phonics Is Flawed Release New Remix of Ok Photo
Consistently injecting her passion for astronomy and the extra-terrestrial, Tiggi Hawke released ‘V838’ last November, an audio-visual teaser for her debut album, in collaboration with Oliver JT Dipre, which boasts spectacular VFX and styling, following on from the themes of Tiggi’s June single ‘Giants’.

RYAN OAKES Announces Debut Album & Shares New Single SPACESHIP Photo
Working with a number of producers including Zach Jones, Jayden Seeley, Matty Beats and Curtis Martin, Oakes has been working on the album over the last several months and teasing it with a number of singles. Now, he shares another taste of WAKE UP via the piano-laden “SPACESHIP” with Abigail Osborn.  

THE BLSSM Returns With the Cinematic Whos to Say Photo
On the much-anticipated new release, THE BLSSM is pensive about the future, bearing her soul with introspective lyrics over an upbeat, John Hughes movie-style soundtrack. The song is playful in its catchiness, yet intertwined with deeper elements. The track was released alongside a music video. Watch it now!

More Hot Stories For You

Desarae Dee Releases New Single, 'Chilly Timing'Desarae Dee Releases New Single, 'Chilly Timing'
March 30, 2023

Desarae Dee gives 'ice-cold feels' with her new single, 'Chilly Timing.'

Jay Americana Releases Energetic And Exploratory EP, 555Jay Americana Releases Energetic And Exploratory EP, 555
March 30, 2023

Following an exclusive premiere with UK publication Wonderland Magazine, Atlanta-based recording artist Jay Americana (he/they) has returned with their new EP, 555, across DSPs.

Brand New Destination Festival Sol Seeker 2023 Announces Phase 1 Lineup And Ticket On Sale DateBrand New Destination Festival Sol Seeker 2023 Announces Phase 1 Lineup And Ticket On Sale Date
March 29, 2023

Striving to revitalize the boom of tourism and the electronic dance scene, the US Virgin Islands introduces its newest premier electronic dance music festival, Sol Seeker.

The ASCAP Foundation Names Recipients of the 2023 Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer AwardsThe ASCAP Foundation Names Recipients of the 2023 Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Awards
March 29, 2023

The ASCAP Foundation has announced the recipients of the 2023 Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Awards.

Recording Artist Amanda Brown Releases Music Video for 'Amazing'Recording Artist Amanda Brown Releases Music Video for 'Amazing'
March 29, 2023

Puerto Rican/Jamaican Bronx native and former Voice contestant Amanda Brown is taking a major really, a literal leap off of a plane, in her exhilarating new music video 'Amazing'.