Ziegfeld Club Announces Recipient Of 2018 Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award

Ziegfeld Club Announces Recipient Of 2018 Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award

The Ziegfeld Club, Inc., one of New York City's first performing arts charities to benefit women, is thrilled to announce that Lucille Lortel Award-Nominee Julianne Wick Davis (Southern Comfort) has been named the recipient of the fourth annual Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award (BBZA). Created to honor a female composer of musical theatre, the BBZA is a prestigious $10,000 cash grant. In addition, the recipient receives one year of artistic and professional mentorship from a prominent composer and a producer of musical theatre.

A talented musical theater composer whose work has been presented by esteemed NYC theatrical institutions like The Public Theater, Julianne Wick Davis joins the ranks of previous Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award recipients Masi Asare (2015), Anna Jacobs (2016), and Shaina Taub (2017).

The 2018 recipient of the Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award was selected by panelists that included Eric Cornell, Mindi Dickstein, Michael John LaChiusa, Clara Luthas, John Margulis, Kristen Sanderson, Mary Sedarat, Shea Sullivan, Rachel Sussman, Nadav Wiesel, Kirsten Childs and Laurie Sanderson. In addition to naming Ms. Wick Davis recipient of the BBZA, the panel would like to extend Honorable Mention to Zoe Sarnak, Helen Park and Carmel Dean.

A reception will be held on Monday, November 5, 2018 at 5:00 pm to honor Ms. Wick Davis as the 2018 Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award recipient, and NYC based Trumpeter & Music Educator Rebecca Steinberg the 2018 recipient of The Liz Swados Inspiration Grant, a $5,000 cash grant for a distinguished female music educator in NYC given by The Ziegfeld Club and underwritten for 4 years by Academy Award-nominee actor Diane Lane.

Held at the New Amsterdam Theater (214 West 42nd Street), home the legendary Ziegfeld Follies from 1913-1927, the ceremony will feature a special musical presentation by Julianne Wick Davis, with New York Musical Festival Producing Artistic Director Rachel Sussman serving as this year's Key Note Speaker. In addition, the ceremony will offer a special display of original Ziegfeld Follies memorabilia.

For more information about The Ziegfeld Club, Inc, the Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award and the Liz Swados Inspiration Grant please visit www.TheZiegfeldClubInc.com

Photo Credit: Michael Kushner

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram