Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Virginia B. Toulmin Foundation Announces 2018 Grants


The Virginia B. Toulmin Foundation announced its 2018 grants in The Virginia B. Toulmin Foundation's Women Playwrights Commissioning Program. These grants fund commissions for female playwrights at selected theaters nationwide. The 2018 recipients are:

Colt Coeur Theater, New York, NY - Lily Padilla

Goodman Theater, Chicago, IL - Sandra Delgado

Playwrights Horizon, New York, NY - Aleshea Harris

Seattle Rep, Seattle, WA - Ruby Rae Spiegel

Soho Rep, New York, NY - Jillian Walker

Signature Theater, New York, NY - Katori Hall

The 2018 awards are the sixth in a series of annual awards for female playwrights that the foundation has made since 2013. Past recipients include: The Public Theater for Patricia Ione Lloyd for Eve's Song, Soho Rep for Jackie Sibblies Drury for Fairview and Culture Project for Staceyann Chin for MotherStruck!

The Foundation has made over 50 grants to support commissions for female playwrights, focusing its grantmaking on a broad diversity of voices that need to be heard. The Foundation makes similar awards to emerging female composers and choreographers in the fields of opera, symphonic music and ballet. The Foundation carries on the principles of its founder, Virginia B. Toulmin, a long-time patron of the arts, who believed in equal access and opportunity for women.

Related Articles

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes & More

More Hot Stories For You