Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on BOMBSHELL

The Actors Fund's BOMBSHELL Benefit Concert Moved to 6/8

As BroadwayWorld previously reported, The Actors Fund will soon present a one-night-only concert presentation of BOMBSHELL - The Marilyn Monroe musical from NBC's Golden Globe-nominated television series SMASH. The benefit for The Actors Fund was previously set to take place on June 15, but the concert has now officially been moved to June 8, 2015 in New York City.

Cast and venue are to be announced. Please check The Actors Fund website for updates at BOMBSHELL's twenty-two original songs were written by Tony and Grammy award-winning duo Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman (HAIRSPRAY). BOMBSHELL features the Emmy nominated songs "Let Me Be Your Star" and "Hang the Moon."

In December 2013, 54 Below presented a concert version of HIT LIST- the other musical featured in SMASH. The event featured SMASH alums Jeremy Jordan, Krysta Rodriguez, Andy Mientus and more.

On May 26, 2013, SMASH aired its farewell episodes on NBC after two seasons on television. Created by playwright Theresa Rebeck and developed by Robert Greenblatt for NBC, it was a musical drama that celebrated the beauty and heartbreak of the Broadway theater as it follows a cross-section of dreamers and schemers who all have one common desire - to be a Broadway star. Steven Spielberg served as one of the executive producers, along with Craig Zadan, Neil Meron, David Marshall Grant, Theresa Rebeck, Darryl Frank and Justin Falvey.

The show debuted on February 6, 2012, and its first season ended on May 14, 2012. Its second season premiered on February 5, 2013, and ended on May 26, 2013.

The series starred Emmy Award winner Debra Messing ("Will & Grace"), Oscar winner Anjelica Huston ("Prizzi's Honor"), Jack Davenport ("Pirates of the Caribbean" films), Tony Award winner Christian Borle ("Peter and the Starcatcher"), Katharine McPhee ("American Idol"), Megan Hilty ("9 to 5: The Musical"), Tony Award nominee Jeremy Jordan ("Newsies", "Bonnie & Clyde"), Andy Mientus("Spring Awakening", "Les Miserables"), Leslie Odom Jr. ("Leap of Faith") and Krysta Rodriguez ("Spring Awakening", "First Date").

Related Articles
Vote Now for the Best of the Decade Awards

More Hot Stories For You