STAGE TUBE: First Look: Video for Disney's LET IT SHINE Soundtrack

Disney Channel's original movie LET IS SHINE is premiering on Friday June 15th. The soundtrack to the movie will be available nationwide on June 12, 2012 wherever music is sold. Watch the videos to "Guardian Angel" by Tyler James Williams and Coco Jones, "What I Said" by Coco Jones and the LET IT SHINE official on air spot below!

Taking the hip-hop musical to a whole new level, Walt Disney Records is set to release the soundtrack to the upcoming Disney Channel Original Movie "Let It Shine." Featuring 13 songs -- soulful ballads, funky jams and epic hip hop battles -- performed by the movie's stars including Hollywood Records' artist Coco Jones, Tyler James Williams and Brandon MychAl Smith, the album will be available for pre-order at iTunes beginning today and arrives in stores and online retailers June 12. The "Let It Shine" album also includes videos, special offers and four instrumental tracks that fans can access from their computers and use to create their own rap battles.

Radio Disney has already sampled one track, "Don't Run Away," which is climbing the Top 30 charts based on listener requests. Radio Disney premiered the full soundtrack on Saturday, June 9 and will have cast members in studio leading up to the Disney Channel premiere of the movie on Friday, June 15.

The tracks were written by top songwriters and producers in contemporary pop/R&B: Antonina Armato & Tim James, David Banner, Andy Dodd, In-Q, J-Doe, Toby Gad, Adam Hicks, Steven Jones, Jay L'Oreal, Justin Mobley, Tocarra Phillips, Lindy Robbins, Thomas Armato Sturges, Dapo Torimiro, Anya Vasilenko, Jon Vella, Lambert "Stereo" Waldrip and Adam Watts. A concept music video for "Guardian Angel" featuring Tyler James Williams and Coco Jones was directed by Chris Applebaum (Rihanna, Selena Gomez & the Scene, Mariah Carey) and will debut on Disney Channel on Friday, June 1. 

In the story, Cyrus DeBarge is the musical director at his father's Atlanta, Georgia, church, and he's been having some challenges convincing his preacher father that hip-hop is not the devil's music. Cyrus' struggles continue when, for a freestyle rap competition at the local teen club, he writes a song under the name "Truth," which tells his childhood friend and longtime crush, recording artist RoxAnne Andrews, how he really feels about her. When it's all said and done, his best friend Kris McDuffy is mistakenly named the author of the rap song and winner of the contest. As Roxanne begins to fall for Kris, it's up to the true poet Cyrus to overcome self-doubt, seize the opportunity to reveal both his talent and his feelings, and pursue his dreams. All the while, Cyrus must convince his preacher father that hip-hop music can convey a positive message despite the rap battle he is about to throw down with his nemesis, "Lord of Da Bling," at the club.

Starring are Tyler James Williams as Cyrus DeBarge, Coco Jones as RoxAnne Andrews, Trevor Jackson as Kris McDuffy, Brandon MychAl Smith ("So Random!") as Lord of Da Bling, Nicole Sullivan ("MADtv") as Roxanne's music manager Lyla, Courtney B. Vance ("FlashForward," ABC's "Revenge") as Cyrus' preacher father, Jacob DeBarge, and Dawnn Lewis ("A Different World") as Cyrus' mother, Gail. "Let It Shine" is directed by two-time DGA award winner Paul Hoen ("Camp Rock 2: The Final Jam," "JONAS"), written by Eric Daniel and Don D. Scott ("Barbershop," "Barbershop 2: Back in Business") and choreographed by Danny Teeson ("American Idol") and associate Brandon Shaw ("So You Think You Can Dance," NAACP Image Awards). A production of G Wave Productions, LLC., the movie was shot on location in Atlanta and Marietta, Georgia. The Let It Shine soundtrack will be available nationwide on June 12, 2012 wherever music is sold. The album is available for pre-order at iTunes and

STAGE TUBE: First Look: Video for Disney's LET IT SHINE Soundtrack
Click Here to Watch the Video!

Related Articles

From This Author TV News Desk

Before you go...