Click Here for More Articles on SMASH on NBC

SMASH's Hilty, McPhee Comment on Golden Globe Nomination

SMASH's Hilty, McPhee Comment on Golden Globe Nomination

The Hollywood Foreign Press Association announced the nominations for the 2013 Golden Globes Awards this morning, live from the Beverly Hilton Hotel. Among the nominations was the hit NBC musical drama SMASH, which was given a nod for Best Television Series – Comedy or Musical. SMASH stars Katharine McPhee and Megan Hilty commented on the news this morning.

Katharine McPhee: "I'm absolutely thrilled to be in such wonderful company and to be honored by the HFPA."

Megan Hilty: "Seeing our show in that company is thrilling and amazing."

"Smash" returns to the NBC lineup for a second season on Tuesday, February 5 (9-10 p.m. ET) and will continue in its regular time slot on Tuesday, February 12 (10-11 p.m. ET). Among the notable guest stars that have been announced for the show's next season are Liza Minnelli, Jennifer Hudson, Jesse L. Martin and Sean Hayes.

"Smash" is a musical drama that celebrates the beauty and heartbreak of the Broadway theater as it follows a cross-section of dreamers and schemers who all have one common desire – to be a Broadway star. The series stars Emmy Award winner Debra Messing ("Will & Grace"), Oscar winner Anjelica Huston ("Prizzi's Honor"), Jack Davenport ("Pirates of the Caribbean" films), Tony Award winner Christian Borle ("Peter and the Starcatcher"), Katharine McPhee ("American Idol"), Megan Hilty ("9 to 5: The Musical"), Tony Award nominee Jeremy Jordan ("Newsies"), Andy Mientus ("Spring Awakening"), Leslie Odom Jr. ("Leap of Faith") and Krysta Rodriguez ("Spring Awakening").

From Universal Television in association with DreamWorks Television, "Smash" stemmed from an idea of executive producer and multiple Emmy and Oscar winner Steven Spielberg ("ER," "Schindler's List"). The series' executive producers also include Joshua Safran ("Gossip Girl"), Craig Zadan and Neil Meron (Oscar-winning "Chicago," "Hairspray"), Darryl Frank and Justin Falvey ("United States of Tara," "The Borgias"), Tony and Grammy Award winners Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman ("Hairspray," "Catch Me If You Can"), Jim Chory ("Heroes," "American Dreams") and Theresa Rebeck.

Related Articles

From This Author TV News Desk

Before you go...