Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on STEPHEN SONDHEIM

Photo Coverage: Opening Night Arrivals at Sweeney Todd

Tony Award winners Patti LuPone and Michael Cerveris lead a ten member cast in the Broadway production of SWEENEY TODD, The Demon Barber of Fleet Street. SWEENEY TODD has music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, book by Hugh Wheeler from an adaptation by Christopher Bond. The production is directed and designed by John Doyle, with music supervision and orchestrations by Sarah Travis. SWEENEY TODD opened at the Eugene O'Neill Theatre on Thursday, November 3.

Rounding out the ten member cast are: John Arbo (Jonas Fogg), Donna Lynne Champlin (Pirelli), Diana DiMarzio (Beggar Woman), Manoel Felciano (Tobias Ragg), Alexander Gemignani (The Beadle), Mark Jacoby (Judge Turpin), Benjamin Magnuson (Anthony Hope), Lauren Molina (Johanna). This production of SWEENEY TODD arrives on Broadway from a highly successful London engagement originally staged by the Watermill Theatre, which transferred first to the Trafalgar Studios in London in July 2004 to wide critical acclaim, then into the West End where it ran for a limited engagement closing on February 5, 2005.

The performance schedule during previews is: Monday - Saturday at 8pm, Wednesday & Saturday at 2pm. The performance schedule starting the week of November 7 is: Tuesday at 7pm, Wednesday - Saturday at 8pm, Wednesday & Saturday at 2pm and Sunday at 2pm. Please note that there is no performance on Friday, November 4 and that a performance has been added on Sunday, November 6 at 2pm.



The Marquee

Stephen Sondheim

Dorothy Stanley

Elaine Stritch

Tommy Tune

Scott Wittman

Scott Wittman and Marc Shaiman

Max Weinberg

Phylicia Rashad and Michael McElroy

Zoe Caldwell

Nancy Anderson

Merwin Foard

Danny Gurwin

John Benjamin Hickey

Danny Gurwin and Megan McGinnis

Paul Huntley

Audra McDonald

Audra McDonald

John Krasinksi

Michael McElroy

Terrence McNally

Isaac Mizrahi

Phyllis Newman and Tommy Tune

Phylicia Rashad and Michael McElroy


Related Articles

From This Author Walter McBride