Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on JONATHAN GROFF

Photo Coverage: New York Drama Critics Circle Awards

The 2007 New York Drama Critics Circle Awards were presented at a cocktail reception held on Monday, May 14, at the Algonquin Hotel.

The Coast of Utopia, by Tom Stoppard, won the New York Drama Critics' Circle Award (NYDCC) for Best Play of the 2006-2007 season.  The Best Musical award was given to Spring Awakening (book and lyrics by Steven Sater, music by Duncan Sheik).  The award for Best American Play went to Radio Golf by August Wilson.  The selections were made at the 72nd annual voting meeting of the organization today at the offices of Time Out New York in Manhattan.  A special citation was awarded by the NYDCC to the current Broadway revival of Journey's End.  The award for best play carries with it a cash prize of $2,500.  Also, a cash award of $1,000 will go to the playwright who receives the award for best American or foreign play.  The awards are made possible by a grant from the Lucille Lortel Foundation.

The New York Drama Critics' Circle comprises 21 drama critics from daily newspapers, magazines, and wire services based in the New York metropolitan area.  The New York Drama Critics' Circle Award is the nation's second-oldest theatre award, after the Pulitzer Prize for drama; it has been awarded every year since 1936 to the best new play of the season (with additional awards for musicals and foreign or American plays as well as citations for special achievement).

Adam Feldman, theatre critic for Time Out New York, has served as president of the NYDCC since 2005.  Frank Scheck of the New York Post serves as vice president; Michael Kuchwara of the Associated Press is treasurer. In addition to Messrs. Feldman, Scheck, and Kuchwara, the members of the New York Drama Critics' Circle are: Clive Barnes of the New York Post; Melissa Rose Bernardo of Entertainment Weekly; David Cote of Time Out New York; Joe Dziemianowicz of the Daily News; Michael Feingold of the Village Voice; Robert Feldberg of the Bergen Record; Elysa Gardner of USA Today; Eric Grode of the New York Sun; John Heilpern of The New York Observer; Jacques le Sourd of Gannett Newspapers; Jeremy McCarter of New York; David Rooney of Variety; David Sheward of Back Stage; John Simon of Bloomberg News; Michael Sommers of The Star-Ledger/Newhouse Newspapers; Terry Teachout

Visit for more information.

Kirsten Childs and Sarah Jones

Marian Seldes and Jason Butler Harner

Clive Barnes

Kenny Leon and Harry Lennix

John Cameron Mitchell

John Cameron Mitchell

John Cameron Mitchell

Steven Sater and Duncan Sheik

Steven Sater and Duncan Sheik

Adam Feldman

Sarah Jones

Sarah Jones

Jack Viertel

Marian Seldes

Marian Seldes

Hugh Dancy

Jefferson Mays, Boyd Gaines, Hugh Dancy and Stark Sands

Tamara Tunie, Tonya Pinkins and Kirsten Childs

Tom Hulce and Marian Seldes

Tom Hulce and Marian Seldes

Lea Michele and Michael Mayer

Marian Seldes and Jack O'Brien

Tonya Pinkins and Sarah Jones

Lea Michele and Jonathan Groff

Tom Hulce and Jack O'Brien

Martha Plimpton, Jennifer EhleBianca Amato and Jason Butler Harner

Anthony Chisholm

Related Articles
Vote Now for the Best of the Decade Awards

From This Author Mark Rupp

Mark Rupp, aside from working in the film and modeling industries has been a working photographer for 20+ years. His work has been published in (read more...)