Nick Wyman Elected Actors' Equity President


Actor and long time Equity Councillor Nick Wyman has been elected President of Actors' Equity Association, it was announced today. Eighteen members, representing Principals, Chorus and Stage Managers, were also elected to serve three, four or five year terms on the National Council, the Union's governing body. More than 6,500 valid votes were cast in the election.

Mr. Wyman, a member since 1974, brings more than twenty (20) years experience as a Councillor to the post. Among his committee work, he has served on several Production Contract negotiating teams, House Affairs, National Public Policy and is the Chair of the Alien Committee. He is also a Pension and Health Fund Trustee for the last ten (10) years. Mr. Wyman lists among his numerous stage credits are the Broadway productions of THE PHANTON OF THE OPERA (Firmin in the original production), LES MISERABLES, SLY FOX, and GREASE. He has appeared Off Broadway, in regional productions at such theaters as The Goodman, the Arena Stage and the Guthrie.

Equity is divided into three geographic regions - Eastern, Central and Western. The number of representatives each region has on Council is determined by the proportion of members in each region and the percentage of those members working under the principal, chorus or stage manager contracts. Of the 18 seats open this election, 13 were available in the Eastern region, 2 in the Central region and three in the Western Region.

In the Eastern region, Dana Ivey, Maureen Moore, Judy Rice, Wally Dunn, Scott Evans, Kristine Nevins, Craig A. Meyer and Joe Zaloom were elected in the Principal category for five year terms; Nicole Flender for a four year term, and Jonathan Brody for a three year term. Bill Bateman was elected in the Chorus category for a five year term and Ruth E. Kramer and Greg Hirsch were elected to the Stage Manager category for a five year term.

Ariane Dolan was elected in the Central Region to the Chorus category for a five year term and Malcolm D. Ewen was elected to the Stage Manager Category for a five year term.

In the Western region, Cynthia Marty, Tom Moriarty and John Herzog were elected to the Principal category for five years.

Actors' Equity Association, founded in 1913, represents more than 49,000 professional stage actors and stage managers nationwide.


Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram