Newcity Publishes THE PLAYERS 2013: The 50 People Who Really Perform in Chicago

Newcity publishes The Players 2013: The 50 People Who Really Perform in Chicago this week. Alternating each year between on-stage artistic achievement and behind-the-scenes power, The Players 2013 lists the most powerful individuals in the city's theater, dance, comedy and opera.

From Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events Commissioner Michelle Boone to Lyric Opera general director Anthony Freud to Black Ensemble Theater founder Jackie Taylor, and everyone in-between, The Players catalogues the incredible diversity, range and vital national significance of Chicago performing arts.

A complete list The Players 2013 is below and can be found at starting January 24. PDFs of the print pages are available upon request. Newcity's co-founding editor and publisher, Brian Hieggelke, is available for interviews and can be reached at or 312.715.8777.

The Players 2013:

1. Michelle Boone, Commissioner, City of Chicago's Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events
2. Lou Raizin, President, Broadway In Chicago
3. Robert Falls, Artistic director, Goodman Theatre
4. Anthony Freud, General director, Lyric Opera
5. Martha Lavey, Artistic director, Steppenwolf Theatre
6. Andrew Alexander, CEO, co-owner, Second City
7. Ashley Wheater, Artistic director, Joffrey Ballet
8. Jackie Taylor, Executive director and founder, Black Ensemble Theater
9. Chay Yew, Artistic director, Victory Gardens Theater
10. Criss Henderson, Executive director, Chicago Shakespeare Theater
11. Roche Schulfer, Executive director, Goodman Theatre
12. Michael Tiknis, President and managing director, Harris Theater
13. Andrew White, Artistic director and co-founder, Lookingglass Theatre Company
14. Steve Traxler, Co-founder and president, JAM Theatricals
15. Charles Newell, Artistic director, Court Theatre
16. Barbara Gaines, Artistic director, Chicago Shakespeare Theater
17. Renée Fleming, Creative consultant, Lyric Opera
18. David Hawkanson, Executive director, Steppenwolf Theatre
19. Deb Clapp, Executive director, League of Chicago Theatres
20. Eileen LaCario, Vice president, Broadway In Chicago
21. David Cromer, Director
22. Fred Eychaner, President, Alphawood Foundation and board member, Joffrey Ballet
23. Tracy Letts, Ensemble member, Steppenwolf Theatre
24. Lar Lubovitch and Jay Franke, Founders and artistic directors, Chicago Dancing Festival
25. Glenn Edgerton, Artistic director, Hubbard Street Dance Company
26. Lane Alexander, Co-founder and director of Chicago Human Rhythm Project
27. Michael Halberstam, Artistic director and co-founder, Writers' Theatre
28. PJ Powers, Artistic director and co-founder, TimeLine Theatre
29. Brett Batterson, Executive director, Auditorium Theatre
30. Charna Halpern, Producer and co-founder, iO
31. Onye Ozuzu, Chair, Department of Dance, Columbia College
32. Kelly Leonard, Producer, executive vice president, Second City
33. Christopher Clinton Conway, Executive director, Joffrey Ballet
34. Peter Taub, Director of performances, Museum of Contemporary Art
35. Rachel Rockwell, Director and choreographer
36. Brian Posen, Founder and executive producer, Chicago SketchFest; artistic director, Stage 773
37. Mary Zimmerman, Director and playwright
38. Jeremy Wechsler, Artistic director, Theater Wit
39. Chris Jones, Chief theater critic, Chicago Tribune
40. Andreas Mitisek, General director, Chicago Opera Theater
41. Henry Godinez, Artistic associate, Goodman Theatre
42. Stuart Oken, CEO and producer, Elephant Eye Theatrical
43. Brian Loevner, Managing director, Chicago Dramatists, and partner, Chicago Commercial Collective
44. Jacqueline Russell, Founder and artistic director, Chicago Children's Theatre
45. PJ Paparelli, Artistic director, American Theater Company
46. Heather Hartley, Executive director, Audience Architects
47. Joe Jahraus, Artistic director and co-founder, Profiles Theatre
48. Halena Kays, Artistic director, The Hypocrites
49. Suzy Grant, Program manager, Chicago Dancemakers Forum
50. Cathy Taylor, Founder and president, Cathy Taylor Public Relations

Newcity is Chicago's twenty-six-year-old alternative weekly and web network, still locally owned and operated by its founders, Jan and Brian Hieggelke.

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram