Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Morgan James Announces Live Debut Album

Singer and songwriter Morgan James will be releasing her debut album Morgan James Live (Epic Records) on December 4th. Recorded at Dizzy's Club Coca-Cola, an intimate jazz club nestled within New York City's Time Warner Center, the album features James's stirring renditions of standards from the repertoire of Nina Simone.

James studied opera at Juilliard, and worked her way onto the stage of some of the city's most legendary clubs and roles in Broadway productions like Godspell and Wonderland.

"For a long time I wasn't sure what to do with the fact that I've got this gigantic voice that doesn't quite match how I look, so I ended up trying out lots of different things to find my way," said James. "Nina refused to be pigeon-holed into any one genre, and she wasn't setting out to impress anyone," she said. "That sort of purity and lack of showboating means so much to me as a musician."

2013 will mark ten years since Nina Simone's passing.

James collaborated with music director David Cook in creating the musical arrangements at Dizzy's in July of 2012.

Track List for Morgan James Live

1. I Put A Spell On You
2. Little Girl Blue
3. Don't Explain
4. Be My Husband
5. Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
6. My Man's Gone Now
7. Funkier Than A Mosquita's Tweeter
8. My Baby Just Cares For Me
9. Tell Me More And More And Then Some
10. Save Me
11. Trouble In Mind
12. Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out

Keeping up that balance between Broadway and her solo work, James will take the stage in Motown: The Musical in April. She continues to explore her musical depths by writing and recording her first full-length studio album, which she envisions as a more contemporary, pop/R&B record with blues and soul influence.

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes, and More from Your Favorite Broadway Stars

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You