Miro Magloire's New Chamber Ballet Comes to City Center Today

Miro Magloire announces the April 15 & 16 performances of his New Chamber Ballet, an evening of Magloire works set to music by Mozart, Ravel, Paganini, and contemporary composers Karlheinz Stockhausen and Tristan Murail. The season will see the premiere of the complete Ravel'd, an excerpt of which was shown in February.

The company will premiere the complete version of Ravel'd, a fast-paced trio set to Maurice Ravel's 2ndviolin sonata. This work was commissioned by Leslie and Richard Curtis.

From the repertory the company will perform:

Klavierstück, a signature piece of New Chamber Ballet and a tribute to composer Karlheinz Stockhausen, set to his piano piece "Klavierstück IX". The ballet "...creates strange, potent images of the relationship among the dancers, the pianist and the piano... The best piece [Magloire] has choreographed since I've been watching the company." (Roslyn Sulcas, The New York Times, February 6, 2011)

Mandragore, to music by Tristan Murail, is a duet in which the dancers "...are fearless, strong and supple as they wrap around one another, performing lifts and mutually supportive feats in an unusual mixture of power and intimacy." (Philip Gardner, Oberon's Grove, April 18, 2015)

Entangled is a quartet for dancers on- and off-pointe, in which fast and slow duets alternate with interlaced quartet moments. The ballet is set to Niccolo Paganini's Caprices for violin.

In The Parlour is set to Mozart's violin sonata in E Minor. "In this domestic drama, three women express shifts in friendships and matters of trust." (Philip Gardner, Oberon's Grove)

The company will perform the same program on April 20 in Guatemala City at the Auditorio Juan Bautista Gutierrez. This will be New Chamber Ballet's Latin American debut performance.



Friday & Saturday, April 15 & 16 at 8pm

City Center Studio 5, 130 West 56th Street

Tickets: $29

Reservations: 212.868.4444 or www.smarttix.com

Dancers: Sarah Atkins, Elizabeth Brown, Holly Curran, Traci Finch, Amber Neff,

Shoshana Rosenfield

Musicians: Melody Fader, piano Doori Na, violin

For more about the concert, visit www.newchamberballet.com.

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram