MacArthur Foundation Announces 2019 Fellows, Including Annie Dorsen, Sarah Michelson and More!

Earlier today, the MacArthur Foundation announced its 2019 Fellows, awarding unrestricted fellowships to talented individuals who have shown extraordinary originality and dedication in their creative pursuits and a marked capacity for self-direction. The MacArthur Fellowship is a $625,000, no-strings-attached award to extraordinarily talented and creative individuals as an investment in their potential.

This year's recipients included: Elizabeth Anderson (Philosopher), Sujatha Baliga (Attorney and restorative justice practitioner), Lynda Barry (Graphic novelist), Mel Chin (Artist), Lisa Daugaard (Criminal justice reformer), Annie Dorsen (Theater artist), Andrea Dutton (Geochemist), Jeffrey Gibson (Visual artist), Mary Halvorson (Guitarist), Saidiya Hartman (Literary scholar), Walter Hood (Landscape artist), Stacy Jupiter (Marine scientist), Zachary Lippman (Plant biologist), Valeria Luiselli (Writer), Kelly Lytle Hernandez (Historian), Sarah Michelson (Choreographer), Jeffrey Alan Miller (Literary scholar), Jerry X. Mitrovica (Theoretical geophysicist), Emmanuel Pratt (Urban designer), Cameron Rowland (Artist), Vanessa Ruta (Neuroscientist), Joshua Tenenbaum (Cognitive scientist), Jenny Tung (Evolutionary anthropologist), Ocean Vuong (Poet), Emily Wilson (Classicist and translator).

"From addressing the consequences of climate change to furthering our understanding of human behavior to fusing forms of artistic expression, this year's 26 extraordinary MacArthur Fellows demonstrate the power of individual creativity to reframe old problems, spur reflection, create new knowledge, and better the world for everyone. They give us reason for hope, and they inspire us all to follow our own creative instincts." -John Palfrey, President

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

The Public Theater Cancels THE TRUTH HAS CHANGED Due To 'Violations of Code of Conduct'
The Public Theater took to Twitter to announced that their production of The Truth Has Changed, which was part of their Under The Radar Festival, has ... (read more)

Matilda the Musical is headed to the big screen!... (read more)

Dan DeLuca, Nicholas Podany, Keri Rene Fuller and More Will Perform at 54 SINGS HARRY STYLES at Feinstein's/54 Below
FEINSTEIN'S/54 BELOW, Broadway's Supper Club, will present 54 Sings Harry Styles on February 22nd, 2020 at 11:30pm. Get ready for an unforgettable cel... (read more)

Isaac Powell Returns to WEST SIDE STORY Tonight Following Knee Injury
West Side Story star, Isaac Powell, will rejoin the cast of the Broadway revival this evening following a knee injury that sidelined the actor, causin... (read more)

Lin-Manuel Miranda Will Be Profiled on New Apple TV+ Documentary Series DEAR...
A new documentary series on Apple TV+ will profile Broadway favorite Lin-Manuel Miranda, and more!... (read more)

Oh, What a Beautiful Broadway Run- OKLAHOMA! Cast Reflects on Final Performance
In 1943, a brand new musical from new composing team Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein astounded the world and changed Broadway forever. In 2019, ... (read more)

Advertisement Advertisement Advertisement