Judith Light, Amy Ryan and More to be Honored at T. Schreiber Studio and Theatre's Salute to New York Theatre

Judith Light, Amy Ryan and More to be Honored at T. Schreiber Studio and Theatre's Salute to New York Theatre

T. Schreiber Studio and Theatre (Terry Schreiber and Peter Jensen, Co-Artistic Directors) will host the Salute to New York Theatre to honor four New York theatre luminaries – Tony Award-winning actress Judith Light, Tony Award nominated actress Amy Ryan, Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright John Patrick Shanley and NY1 theatre critic Roma Torre – - on Monday, November 12th, starting at 6:00 pm at the Maritime Hotel (363 West 16th Street at 9th Avenue).

Jordan Roth, Henry Winkler, and Stephen Adly Guirgis will present the four honorees with the TSS 2012 Outstanding Achievement Award, which recognizes artists who not only have achieved excellence in their field, but more specifically have chosen to make New York an integral part of that success. The special evening will celebrate the accomplishments and contributions of the honorees with special guests, patrons and theatre friends. Summer Crockett Moore and Sharon Maguire are co-chairs of the event.

The cocktail reception begins at 6:00 pm, and is followed by the awards presentation hosted by TSS alum Julie Halston. A special VIP dinner with the honorees will cap the evening. Tickets are available for the cocktails and awards presentation portion of the evening with a limited number of dinner tickets are available.

Terry Schreiber raved about this year's honorees. "We are thrilled to give these awards to present artists in the theatre," he explained. "Judith Light, Amy Ryan, John Patrick Shanley and Roma Torre have contributed immensely to the New York theatre scene, and I am grateful to honor their deep commitment to our beloved city and its artistic endeavors." he explained.

Ms. Light, Ms. Ryan, Mr. Shanley and Ms. Torre join an impressive, select group of actors, producers and writers whom the studio has previously honored. Past recipients include Roger Berlind, Betty Buckley, Ellen Burstyn, John Guare, Anne Jackson, Cynthia Nixon, Mary-Louise Parker, Gerald Schoenfeld, Marian Seldes, and Eli Wallach.

T. Schreiber Studio and Theatre has taught the craft of acting and produced award-winning Off-Off Broadway productions for over four decades. Many of its alumni have gone on to successful careers in theatre, film and television, including Edward Norton, Peter Sarsgaard, Maria Bello, Taylor Nichols, Debra Jo Rupp, Claudia Shear and Ms. Halston.

This event will allow T. Schreiber Studio and Theatre to continue creating a space for actors and audiences to come together and experience the gift of live theatre and further the organization's mission of producing fully mounted, extended funs of classical, contemporary, and new plays and musicals.

Tickets to Salute to New York Theatre are $175 for cocktails and the awards reception and $375 for cocktails, awards reception and VIP dinner. Advance tickets may be purchased online at http://tschreiber.org/special-events/salute/ or by phone at (212) 741-0209 or by E-mailing info@tschreiber.org.

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...