Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Jessica Phillips, Christiane Noll, Jared Goldsmith and Phoebe Koyabe Join DEAR EVAN HANSEN on Broadway; Plus Tour Cast Changes!

Dear Evan Hansen

Dear Evan Hansen producer Stacey Mindich has announced several casting changes for the Broadway and North American touring productions of the Tony Award-winning musical, Dear Evan Hansen.

Stars of the First National Tour, including Jessica Phillips ('Heidi Hansen'), Tony Award-nominee Christiane Noll ('Cynthia Murphy'), Jared Goldsmith ('Jared Kleinman') and Phoebe Koyabe ('Alana Beck') will reprise their critically acclaimed roles on Broadway this fall; Toronto company members Jessica Sherman ('Heidi Hansen'), Claire Rankin ('Cynthia Murphy'), Stephanie La Rochelle ('Zoe Murphy') and Alessandro Costantini ('Jared Kleinman') will hit the road for the second year of Dear Evan Hansen's recording-breaking North American Tour.

"Dear Evan Hansen is so fortunate to attract some of the best talent on Broadway and beyond for each of our productions," Mindich said. "We are grateful to feature some stunning Broadway debuts, as well as revered theater actors in these authentic portrayals of very complex characters. I'm thrilled we're able to maintain the excellence of this show as we continue our third year on Broadway and head into our second year on a national tour.

As previously announced, Ivan Hernandez and Ann Sanders assumed the roles of Larry and Cynthia Murphy on Broadway beginning August 6. Noll (taking over from Sanders), Goldsmith and Koyabe will join the Broadway company on October 22, the latter two making their Broadway debuts at the Music Box Theater; Jessica Phillips will join the Broadway company on November 26, 2019, succeeding Lisa Brescia in the role of Heidi Hansen. Jane Pfitsch also joins the Broadway company from the tour as a Heidi/Cynthia understudy, beginning November 5.

In addition to Sherman, Rankin, La Rochelle and Costantini, the full cast for the second year of the Dear Evan Hansen national tour includes Stephen Christopher Anthony as Evan (who begins September 17), Noah Kieserman as Connor, John Hemphill as Larry, Ciara Alyse Harris as Alana (through November 3) and Samantha Williams as Alana (beginning Nov 5), Sam Primack as the Evan Alternate, and understudies David Jeffery, Matthew Kemp, Asher Muldoon, Coleen Sexton, Daniel Robert Sullivan, Kelsey Venter and Maria Wirries. The new company begins performances in Milwaukee on September 24.

The current Broadway company of Dear Evan Hansen includes Andrew Barth Feldman, Gabrielle Carrubba, Lisa Brescia, Ann Sanders, Alex Boniello, Ivan Hernandez, Sky Lakota-Lynch, and Samantha Williams, and Michael Lee Brown (Evan alternate), Roman Banks, Jessica Bogart, Lorna Courtney, Dan Macke, Kaitlyn Santa Juana, Asa Somers, Josh Strobl and Nicole Van Giesen.

The current National Tour company of Dear Evan Hansen includes Ben Levi Ross, Maggie McKenna, Jessica Phillips, Christiane Noll, Marrick Smith, Aaron Lazar, Jared Goldsmith, and Phoebe Koyabe, and Stephen Christopher Anthony (Evan alternate), Noah Kieserman, Ciara Alyse Harris, John Hemphill, Asher Muldoon, Jane Pfitsch, Coleen Sexton, and Maria Wirries.

The winner of six 2017 Tony Awards, including Best Musical, Dear Evan Hansen features a book by Tony Award-winner Steven Levenson, a score by Academy Award, and Tony & Grammy Award-winning composers Benj Pasek & Justin Paul, and direction by 4-time Tony Award nominee Michael Greif.

Dear Evan Hansen opened at the Music Box Theatre to rave reviews on December 4, 2016. There, it has broken all box office records and struck a chord with audiences and critics alike.

Related Stories
DEAR EVAN HANSEN Plays Final Broadway Performance Photo
As BroadwayWorld previously reported, Dear Evan Hansen, the Tony, Grammy and Olivier Award-winning musical, will play its final Broadway performance on Sunday, September 18, 2022, almost six years after it opened at the Music Box Theatre.

VIDEO: Meet Two Stars of DEAR EVAN HANSEN- Stephen Christopher Anthony & Sam Tutty Photo
Before both productions of Dear Evan Hansen take their final bows, BroadwayWorld is catching up with not one, but two Evans- Stephen Christopher Anthony, who currently plays the role on Broadway, and Sam Tutty, who stars as Evan in the West End. Watch as both reflect on their journeys to the role, reflect on the musical's incredible legacy, and so much more in this video.

DEAR EVAN HANSEN Cancels Matinee Performance Photo
DEAR EVAN HANSEN cancels 8/20 matinee performance.

Review: DEAR EVAN HANSEN at National Arts Centre Photo
What did our critic think of DEAR EVAN HANSEN at National Arts Centre? The opening night performance of Dear Evan Hansen at the National Arts Centre lacked some of the buzz that was palpable at Hamilton a couple of weeks ago. Perhaps that was because of pent-up excitement for Hamilton following two years of pandemic-related delays or maybe it's because Hamilton is still widely considered one of the hottest shows around. Normally there would be a bigger gap between shows, but thanks to the pandemic, Broadway Across Canada's 2021-2022 season has been condensed into a shorter time frame (Aside: not that I'm complaining - the more shows, the better, if you ask me). The beautiful thing about Broadway shows is that no two shows are alike, and the audience can appreciate each on its own merit.

Buy at the Theatre Shop

T-Shirts, Mugs, Phone Cases & More

More Hot Stories For You

New York City Center to Launch Ann Reinking Encores! Choreography FellowshipNew York City Center to Launch Ann Reinking Encores! Choreography Fellowship
March 20, 2023

New York City Center has announced the Ann Reinking Encores! Choreography Fellowship, launching as part of the upcoming 2023 – 2024 season.

Rachel Zegler, Jordan E. Cooper, Dylan Mulvaney & More Join Lineup for MCC Theater's MISCAST23Rachel Zegler, Jordan E. Cooper, Dylan Mulvaney & More Join Lineup for MCC Theater's MISCAST23
March 20, 2023

MCC Theater has announced additional performers for Miscast23, which will take place on Monday April 3 at the Hammerstein Ballroom. See who is starring!

THE WANDERERS Enters Final Two Weeks of Performances at Roundabout Theatre CompanyTHE WANDERERS Enters Final Two Weeks of Performances at Roundabout Theatre Company
March 20, 2023

Roundabout Theatre Company will conclude the New York premiere of The Wanderers by Anna Ziegler, directed by Barry Edelstein on Sunday, April 2.

Alison Luff, Nate Stampley & More Join WITH(OUT) HER ReadingAlison Luff, Nate Stampley & More Join WITH(OUT) HER Reading
March 20, 2023

On March 24, 2023, Eclipse Theatre Company will present an industry reading of With(out) Her, a new musical with music and lyrics by Chilina Kennedy and a book by Eric Holmes. The musical is loosely based on Chilina’s original album What You Find In A Bottle, arranged by Rick Fox, and produced by Chad Irschick.

HADESTOWN Teases London TransferHADESTOWN Teases London Transfer
March 20, 2023

As Hadestown just marked its 1000th performance on Broadway at the Walter Kerr Theatre, the show might soon have another reason to celebrate. A recent Instagram post reads: 'London. Spring is Coming. Wait For Us.'