ICP Announces 2019 Infinity Awards Honorees

The International Center of Photography (ICP), the world's leading institution dedicated to photography and visual culture, today announced the 2019 honorees of its annual Infinity Awards, the leading honor for excellence in the field. The 35th annual ICP Infinity Awards will be held on the evening of Tuesday, April 2 at Ziegfeld Ballroom (141 West 54th Street, New York City). The event is ICP's largest fundraiser and benefits its education and exhibition programs.

At ICP's annual Infinity Awards, we honor the significant talents of those using photography, writing, and visual arts to make an impact, says Mark Lubell, executive director of ICP. As the news cycle continues to churn, and journalists remain under attack, this is the perfect moment to celebrate those who bravely harness the power of images to help inform our understanding of the world.


Juried Awards:
-Art: Dawoud Bey
-Critical Writing and Research: Zadie Smith, Deana Lawson's Kingdom of Restored Glory for the New Yorker
-Emerging Photographer: Jess T. Dugan

Non-Juried Awards:
-Lifetime Achievement: Rosalind Fox Solomon
-Special Presentation: Shahidul Alam

The 2019 Infinity Award honorees in the Art, Critical Writing and Research, and Emerging Photographer categories were chosen by a selection committee composed of Erin Barnett, director of exhibitions and collections, ICP; David Gonzalez, co-editor, Lens, the New York Times; Kristen Joy Watts, editor, @design, Instagram; and Rhea L. Combs, supervisory museum curator, Department of Film & Photography, Earl W. and Amanda Stafford Center for African American Media Arts, Smithsonian, National Museum of African American History and Culture.

The non-juried Infinity Awards were selected by ICP to acknowledge major achievements in photography, and to honor Cornell Capa, who founded ICP in 1974 to preserve the legacy of concerned photography the creation of socially and politically minded images that have the potential to educate and change the world.

Since 1985, the Infinity Awards have recognized significant contributions and emerging talent in a wide range of fields that now encompass photojournalism, art, fashion photography, publishing, critical writing, and new media. Past recipients include Berenice Abbott; Lynsey Addario; Richard Avedon; Ariella Azoulay; David Bailey; Alexandra Bell; Harry Benson; Maurice Berger; Amber Bracken; Henri Cartier-Bresson; Sophie Calle; Edmund Clark; Bruce Davidson; Roy DeCarava; Elliott Erwitt; Sir Harold Evans; Larry Fink; For Freedoms; Samuel Fosso; Robert Frank; LaToya Ruby Frazier; Adam Fuss; David Goldblatt; Paul Graham; David Guttenfelder; Mishka Henner; Andr Kert sz; Natalie Keyssar; Steven Klein; William Klein; Karl Lagerfeld; Annie Leibovitz; Helen Levitt; Mary Ellen Mark; Ryan McGinley; Susan Meiselas; Duane Michals; Daid Moriyama; Zanele Muholi; Shirin Neshat; Gordon Parks; Gilles Peress; Walid Raad; Eugene Richards; Sebasti o Salgado; Malick Sidib ; Lorna Simpson; Cindy Sherman; Dayanita Singh; Juergen Teller; Peter Van Atgmael; and Ai Weiwei, among others.

Co-Chairs of this year's Infinity Awards are Marjorie Rosen, Michael A. Clinton, and Judith Bookbinder. The event's Honorary Committee members include Lynsey Addario; Sade Baderinwa; Glenda Bailey; Alexandra Bell; Maurice Berger; Nancy Borowick; Kimberly Drew; Sir Harold Evans; Samuel Fosso; Adam Fuss; Nina Garcia; Lauren Greenfield; Natalie Keyssar; Julianna Margulies and Keith Lieberthal; Kurt Markus; Mary McCartney; Jean Pigozzi; Pat Schoenfeld; Mark Seliger; Stephen Wilkes; Daniella Zalcman; and Alice Zimet. And, the 2019 Infinity Awards Benefit Committee is composed of Peggy and Keith Anderson; Bonnie and James D'Aquila; Delancey Street Associates; Dow Jones; Englander Family; Gensler; Renee Harbers Liddell and Chris Liddell; HEARST; the Rita and Alex Hillman Foundation; Bob Jeffrey; the Kaneff Foundation; Bicky and George Kellner; Almudena and Pablo Legorreta; Dominique and Samuel L. Milbank; Sylvia and Jan W. Mulder; Gwen and Peter Norton; Fabian Onetti; Lori and Janusz A. Ordover; Marjorie and Jeffrey A. Rosen; Stephanie and Fred Shuman; Bruce Silverstein; Stefano Tonchi; Diane and Tom Tuft; and Heather and Bill Vrattos.

Sponsored by Hearst and Harbers Studios, the 35th annual ICP Infinity Awards will draw more than 400 attendees from the worlds of art, business, entertainment, fashion, philanthropy, and photography. Past Infinity Award attendees include Hayley Baldwin Bieber; Hamish Bowles; Naomi Campbell; Grace Coddington; Ashley Graham; Bella Hadid; Carolina Herrera; Arianna Huffington; Tommy Lee Jones; Karlie Kloss; Dan Rather; Alexandra Richards; Leelee Sobieski; Ben Stiller; Christine Taylor; Anna Wintour; and Jason Wu.

For more information or to purchase tickets, please contact events@icp.org or 212.857.9714.

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram