Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on 2010 AWARDS SEASON


Lily Tomlin has been set to host as the Casting Society of America fêtes their own on Monday, November 1, 2010, at the 26th Annual Artios Awards® in Los Angeles. The L.A. awards ceremony will be held at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel (reception will commence at 5:45 p.m. PST) and simultaneously at American Airlines Theatre in New York. For Los Angeles ticket information, please call (323) 463-1925, or inquire via email at

Along with Lily Tomlin as host, scheduled to participate in the festivities as presenters are (in alphabetical order) Ty Burrell, Viola Davis, Victoria Justice, Diane Lane, John Lithgow, Joe Manganiello, and Vanessa Williams. Bestowed yearly for outstanding achievement in casting, the Artios Awards are given based on the criteria of originality, creativity and contribution of casting to the overall quality of a project. The term "Artios" is from the ancient Greek word meaning "perfectly fitted."

Each year, in addition to the awards presented to casting directors for their achievements in Theatre, Television and Film casting, the Casting Society of America also recognizes industry notables with a Career Achievement Award, the New York Apple Award, and the Hoyt Bowers Award. This year's honorees are: producer Marcy Carsey (The Cosby Show, Roseanne, 3rd Rock From The Sun, Grace Under Fire, That 70's Show), who will receive the Career Achievement Award, and casting director Ellen Chenoweth (Terms of Endearment, Good Night
& Good Luck, O Brother, Where Art Thou?, Michael Clayton, No Country for Old Men, A Serious Man) who will receive the Hoyt Bowers Award.

Scheduled award presenters in New York include Josh Charles, Jim Gaffigan, Charles Kimbrough, John Benjamin Hickey, Aasif Mandvi, Elizabeth Marvel, Scott Porter, Zachary Quinto, Christina Ricci and John Slattery. Jeffrey Wright will present the 2010 New York Apple Award to honoree Tony Award-winning playwright, Tony Kushner.

The Artios Awards were first given in 1985 to honor excellence in casting and the ceremony was held at the Crystal Room of the Beverly Hills Hotel attended by 500 industry leaders. The first New York awards were given in 1988. The CSA is the premiere organization of theatrical casting directors in film, television, and theatre, and is passionately committed to establishing a recognized standard of professionalism in the industry; enhancing the stature of the profession in the industry; freely exchanging information and ideas among members; providing the opportunity to honor the outstanding achievements of its members; and providing members with professional support and resources. CSA members are a united professional society that consistently set the level of professionalism in casting on which the entertainment industry has come to rely. With more than 425 members, the CSA has representation not only in the United States, but also Canada, England and Australia. For more information, or to become a member, visit


Photo Credit: Peter James Zielinski

Featured at the Theatre Shop

T-Shirts, Mugs, Phone Cases & More
Branded Broadway Merch

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You