Circle in the Square Theatre School's 'Festival of Theater' Kicks Off 5/3

Circle in the Square Theatre School's 'Festival of Theater' Kicks Off 5/3

Circle in the Square Theatre School's annual Spring "Festival Of Theater," featuring five full-length productions of plays and musicals performed by its graduating class, begins this weekend with the School's production of THE SEAGULL by Anton Chekhov, directed by Alan Langdon. "Festival Of Theater" performances are open to the public for a $5 suggested donation and take place at Broadway's famed Circle in the Square Theatre (50th Street between Broadway and Eighth Avenue).

The first three plays in the 2013 "Festival of Theater" series are:

THE SEAGULL by Anton Chekhov
Directed by Alan Langdon
Chekhov's extraordinary observation of life, art and disruption at a country estate.
Friday, May 3rd, 7 pm
Saturday, May 4th, 2 pm & 8 pm

ENCHANTED APRIL by Matthew Barber
Directed by Andrea Haring
A funny, heartwarming story of Englishwomen rediscovering themselves at an Italian villa in the 1920's.
Friday, May 10th, 7 pm
Saturday, May 11th, 2 pm & 8 pm

A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM by William Shakespeare
Directed by Edward Berkeley
Shakespeare's magical comedy that celebrates love's power to transform people and fairies alike!
Friday, May 17th, 10 am & 7 pm
Saturday, May 18th, 8 pm

Circle in the Square Theatre School, one of the country's premier schools of professional training for actors and singers is the only conservatory in a Broadway theater. The School features a comprehensive yet eclectic mix of techniques that prepare performers for the diverse approaches they will encounter in the profession. Students receive individual attention in small classes, led by a faculty which consists of accomplished professionals. Established in 1961 and accredited by the National Association of Schools of Theatre, the School was created by the late Theodore Mann and his long-time partner Paul Libin.

Mann, a co-founder of Circle in the Square Theatre was Artistic Director of both the Theatre and the Theatre School until his death in February 2012. Libin is President, and E. Colin O'Leary is Executive Director of the School.

Among the School's distinguished alumni are: Philip Seymour Hoffman, Kevin Bacon, Lady Gaga, Idina Menzel, Nicole Ari Parker, Benicio Del Toro, Felicity Huffman, Jeremy Shamos, Molly Shannon, Matthew Lillard, Justin Kirk and many other luminaries of the stage and screen.

The annual "Festival of Theater" is one of three Outreach Programs that the School has provided since 1995. "Three Plays for Grades K-6" is the second series, featuring alumni, and the School conducts a playwriting residency for 110 third graders at P.S. 11, with each student's short play then performed by graduate actors at Circle in the Square. A new initiative, "Teens On Broadway," brings best works from New York City's 30 performing arts high schools to Circle's Broadway stage, with this year's performance taking place on Friday, June 7th at 7 p.m. Admission is free but reservations are required.

Spring 2013 "Festival of Theater": Suggested donation: $5. Reservations required. Call 212-307-0388 during business hours or email to reserve seats. For more information about Circle in the Square Theatre School visit

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...