Chris Miller and Nathan Tysen Receive 2014 Fred Ebb Award Tonight

Chris Miller and Nathan Tysen Receive 2014 Fred Ebb Award Tonight

Songwriting team Chris Miller and Nathan Tysen are the recipients of the 2014 Fred Ebb Award for musical theater writing. They will be presented with the award at a private ceremony held tonight, December 1, at the American Airlines Theatre.

For their win, the TUCK EVERLASTING writers will take part in a showcase with the Fred Ebb Foundation, and have received $50,000 in cash.

The awards are co-presented by Roundabout Theatre Company, with Chita Rivera as presenter.

Chris Miller (music) and Nathan Tysen (lyrics) have written The Burnt Part Boys (2010 Lucille Lortel Nomination, Best Musical) and Fugitive Songs (2008 Drama Desk Award Nomination, Outstanding Revue), both of which have cast albums on Yellow Sound Label available at iTunes and Amazon.

Their current projects include an adaptation of the popular novel Tuck Everlasting (Direction by Casey Nicholaw, Book by Claudia Shear), and commissions from Lincoln Center Theater and Playwrights Horizons/Theatreworks Silicon Valley.

They have also written two circuses for Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey, contributed to the revue Stars of David, and penned an adaptation of Chris Van Allsburg's picture book, The Mysteries of Harris Burdick (Boston Globe Top Ten Pick of 2008). Television work includes songs for Sesame Street (2012 Daytime Emmy Award) and The Electric Company. They began their collaboration at NYU where they received their MFA's in musical theatre writing.

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram