Click Here for More Articles on 2012 AWARDS SEASON

BWW TV: At The 2012 Drama League Awards - Blair Underwood, Christian Borle, Alan Menken and More!

Article Pixel

BroadwayWorld's Richard Ridge continues his interviews with the stars in attendance at the 78th Annual Drama League Awards luncheon, held yesterday, May 18 at the Marriott Marquis Times Square. Below, Ridge chats with honorary co-chairs Christine Lahti, RoseMary Harris and Christian Borle, nominees Blair Underwood (A Streetcar Named Desire), Jeremy Shamos (Clybourne Park), Michael Cristofer (The Intelligent Homosexual's Guide to Capitalism and Socialism), Mary Testa (Queen of the Mist), Alan Menken (Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award), Capathia Jenkins and Kara Lindsay, Ben Fankhauser, John Dossett, Andrew Keenan-Bolger, Harvey Fierstein and Jack Feldman (Distinguished Production of a Musical - Newsies), Jeremy Jordan (Newsies, Bonnie and Clyde), Celia Keenan-Bolger (Peter and the Starcatcher), Santino Fontana (Sons of the Prophet), Jessie Mueller (On A Clear Day You Can See Forever), Leslie Odom Jr (Leap of Faith), Annaleigh Ashford (RENT) and Tracie Bennett (End of the Rainbow)!

The winners: Distinguished Play, Other Desert Cities, presented by Philip Seymour Hoffman; Distinguished Revival of a Play, Death of a Salesman, presented by Christian Borle; Distinguished Production of a Musical, Once, presented by Cynthia Nixon; Distinguished Revival of a Musical, Follies, presented by Kelli O’Hara; and Distinguished Performance, Audra McDonald, presented by John Lithgow at a star-studded luncheon ceremony hosted by Stockard Channing (Other Desert Cities) and John Larroquette (Gore Vidal’s The Best Man).

The Drama League Awards honor distinguished productions, performances, and exemplary career achievements in musical theatre and directing. First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, The Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. They are the only major theatergoer awards chosen by audience members — specifically, by the thousands of Drama League members nationwide who attend Broadway and Off-Broadway productions. 2012 Nominees were selected from over 170 productions.

For the full list of nominees and winners, click here, and for more interviews, including Audra McDonald, John Laroquette and more, go here!

Related Articles

From This Author BroadwayWorld TV