Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
2011 Awards Season
Click Here for More Articles on 2011 Awards Season

BWW TV: 2011 Tony Awards Winners Circle -Marianne Elliot & Tom Morris: 'We can't believe we're even here'

Marianne Elliot and Tom Morris are the 2011 recipients of the Tony Award for Best Director of a Play for War Horse. Broadway Beat's Richie Ridge spoke with the experimental puppeteers-turned-commerical-directors immediately following their acceptance. Click below to catch up with "overwhelmed" Brits right after their big moment!

Marianne Elliott is Associate Director of The National Theatre, where she has co-directed War Horse and directed Season's Greetings, Women Beware Women, Mrs. Affleck, Harper Regan, Saint Joan (Olivier Award for Best Revival, South Bank Show Award), Thérèse Raquin and Pillars of the Community (Evening Standard Best Director Award). She was an Associate Director at the Royal Court, where her productions include Stoning Mary, Notes on Falling Leaves, The Sugar Syndrome and Local. Previously she was an Artistic Director of the Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester, where she directed Port, Design for Living, Les Blancs, As You Like It, A Woman of No Importance, Nude With Violin, Fast Food, Martin Yesterday, Deep Blue Sea, Mad for It, Poor Superman and I Have Been Here Before. Other theater includes Much Ado About Nothing for the RSC in 2006, The Little Foxes at the Donmar and Terracotta at Hampstead and Birmingham Rep.

Tom Morris: Since 2009 Artistic Director at Bristol Old Vic: directed Juliet and Her Romeo (with Sian Phillips and Michael Byrne) and Swallows and Amazons (with music by Neil Hannon); launched Bristol Ferment as a program of artist development; created Bristol Jam, the festival of improvisation. Also Associate Director at The National Theatre: co-directed Every Good Boy Deserves Favour and War Horse, co-wrote A Matter of Life and Death and developed Coram Boy. From 1995-2004 Artistic Director at Battersea Arts Centre: devised/directed a range of experimental work including Othello Music, All That Fall, Macbeth, Unsung, Disembodied, Kombat Opera Klubneit; produced the Sam Shepard Festival, the Shout's Tall Stories and Jerry Springer: The Opera. Also a writer and broadcaster for the BBC, The Sunday Times, The Observer, The independent, The Guardian and Time Out. He sits on the boards of Complicité, Punchdrunk and is chair of the JMK Trust.

The Antoinette Perry "Tony" Awards are bestowed annually on theatre professionals for distinguished achievement. The Tony is one of the most coveted awards in the entertainment industry and the annual telecast is considered one of the most prestigious programs on television. The 2011 Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.

Marking 65 years of excellence on Broadway, The Tony Awards was broadcast live from the Beacon Theatre on from 8:00 - 11:00 p.m.


Related Articles

From This Author BroadwayWorld TV