Awesome 80s Prom Wins ITA Award for Best Interactive Show

By: Jul. 24, 2006

The Improvisational Theater Association has announced that the winner of their 1st annual Improv Theater Award for Best Interactive Show is The Awesome 80s Prom, produced by Ken Davenport and written by Ken Davenport and The Class of '89.

"The ITA created these awards in celebration of the unique form of interactive or 'reality theater' that has been a part of the legitimate theatrical landscape for decades and has produced some of the longest running shows in New York City and around the world, including Tony 'n Tina's Wedding, The Donkey Show, De La Guarda, and The Awesome 80s Prom.   Despite the length and success of these runs, prior to the ITA, there has never been an organization that has recognized and honored the achievements of these unique productions," state press notes.

Next year, the ITA plans to expand its awards to include recognition for individual performances as well as direction.

The Awesome 80s Prom runs at the New York nightclub Webster Hall, where it has played for almost two years.

"The Awesome 80s Prom is a brand new interactive experience in the style of Tony n' Tina's Wedding and The Donkey Show set at the Wanaget High's Senior Prom… in 1989! All your favorite characters from your favorite '80s movies are at The Prom, from the Captain of the Football Team to the Asian Exchange Student, from the Geek to the hottie Head Cheerleader, and they're all competing for Prom King and Queen. And just like on 'American Idol,' the audience decides who wins, all while moonwalkin' to great retro hits like 'Girls Just Wanna Have Fun' and 'Wake Me Up Before You Go Go!,'" state press notes.

The show was conceived and directed by Ken Davenport and written by Davenport and "The Class of 1989", a group of performers including Sheila Berezan, Alex Back, Adam Bloom, Anne Bobby, Courtney Balan, Nicole Cicchella, Mary Faber, Stephen Guarino, Jeff Hiller, Emily McNamara, Troy Metcalf, Jenna Pace, Amanda Ryan Paige, Brian Peterson, Jessica West Regan, Kathy Searle, Mark Shunock, Josh Walden, Noah Weisberg, Brandon Williams, Simon Wong and Fletcher Young. 

For more information, please visit www.improvtheatreassociation.comFor tickets and information about the show, call 1-877-RAD-PROM, or visit the official website: