Amy Andersson Launches Orchestra Moderne NYC at Carnegie Hall

Amy Andersson Launches Orchestra Moderne NYC at Carnegie Hall

Higher Purpose Productions, LLC presents the launch of Orchestra Moderne NYC at Carnegie Hall on Saturday, October 7, 2017 at 8pm. Orchestra Moderne NYC is a new, dynamic, and game-changing ensemble founded by internationally known conductor Amy Andersson in March 2017. Featuring top musicians in New York City, this diverse orchestra will engage audiences by performing music from film scores, video games, and concert music that is relevant and connected to the important cultural issues in our society. Their mission is to create musical experiences that celebrate humanity and are connected to key social issues, resonating with diverse audiences of music lovers, and providing inclusive opportunities for all composers and performers including women and minorities.

The inaugural program, titled The Journey to America: From Repression to Freedom (Part 1), celebrates the legacy of immigration to America. Orchestra Moderne NYC makes its debut featuring Peter Boyer's Grammy-nominated work Ellis Island: The Dream of America. This beautiful tribute to historic American immigration features seven actors reading stories chosen from the Ellis Island Oral History Project, accompanied by an emotional orchestral score and projected photos from the Ellis Island Immigration Museum. Also on the program is Overture to Light by Emmy-winning composer Lolita Ritmanis, the world premiere of Steven Lebetkin's compelling Violin Concerto with soloist Momo Wong, and the beloved Fanfare for the Common Man by Aaron Copland.

Tickets are available for purchase here and range from $17.50 to $50.

Saturday, October 7, 2017 at 8pm

Carnegie Hall, Stern Auditorium/Perelman Stage

57th St. & 7th Ave., New York, NY

CarnegieCharge: 212-247-7800

Tickets: $17.50-$50

Subways: N/Q/R to 57th St.; A/B/C/D/1 to 59th St. Columbus Circle

Photo credit: Derek Brad

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You