Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Jeff Bridges, T Bone Burnett, Ali MacGraw, Wes Studi, Stevie Salas and Global Filmmakers Headline AFME 2017 Awards

The fifth year of the Albuquerque Film & Music Experience is in the history books, as the excitement came to a close on June 11th with its annual awards event at the Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa. The weeklong lineup kicked off on June 6th with an amazing Opening Night Reception that featured performances by the National Institute of Flamenco, and world renown, Grammy Award-winning, Native American musicians and dancers Shelley Morningsong and Fabian Fontonelle. In addition to an impactful lineup of independent and blockbuster films and opportunities to engage with filmmakers, actors and musicians, AFME was honored to have high participation from "The Dude" himself, Jeff Bridges, 13-time Grammy Award-winning artist T Bone Burnett, actress Ali MacGraw, acclaimed actor and producer Wes Studi, Lynyrd Skynyrd guitarist Rickey Medlock, musician/Executive Producer Stevie Salas and many others.

Awards presented during the week and at the AFME Awards Brunch include:

T Bone Burnett - Jeff Bridges presented T Bone with the AFME 2017 Music Award on Saturday, June 10th after the screening of The Big Lebowski at the Historic KiMo Theatre. The sold-out event was one for the ages as Jeff and T Bone also took the stage for a fun Q&A followed by a sold-out after party at Rock & Brews ABQ. The audience erupted into cheer when Jeff and T Bone took the stage to perform three of their songs from Crazy Heart with the band.

Wes Studi - AFME Executive Director Ivan Wiener presented Wes the AFME 2017 Impact Award on Saturday, June 10th after the 25th Anniversary screening of The Last of the Mohicans at the KiMo Theatre. The award is presented to a person or persons who have made a significant impact to society through their work in film, music or the arts.

Stevie Salas - Actor Wes Studi presented Stevie Salas with the AFME 2017 Visionary Award on Tuesday, June 6th after the screening of Stevie's documentary, RUMBLE: The Indians Who Rocked the World. Christina Fon of Rezolution Films, Lynyrd Skynyrd's Rickey Medlock and Stevie took the stage for the Q&A, moderated by director Chris Eyre (Smoke Signals), followed by the after party at Sister Bar.

Best Actress AFME 2017
Jodi Lynn Thomas - Solitary
1st Runner Up - Sarah Minnich - Days Young and Golden
2nd Runner Up - Lizzy Clarke - Rocket

Best Actor AFME 2017
Andy Kastelic - Days Young and Golden
1st Runner Up - Harrison Samuels - One Penny
2nd Runner Up - Cole Simon - Breathing Through Trees

Best Director AFME 2017
Scott Ballard - North & Nowhere
1st Runner Up - Annika Marks & Rich Newey - The Games We Play
2nd Runner Up - Katy-Wright Mead & Nicola Murphy - Float

AFME Social Impact Award 2017
Ken Morris, Producer - The Fare
1st Runner Up - I am Her
2nd Runner Up - Joshua Tree: Threatened Wonderland

Best Feature AFME 2017
One Penny- Directed by Michael DeVita; written by Michael DeVita & David A. Melendez

Best Documentary AFME 2017
Rumble: The Indians Who Rocked the World - Directed by Catherine Bainbridge & Alfonso Maiorana
1st Runner up - Hired Gun - Directed by Fran Strine
2nd Runner Up - Fenn's Searchers - Directed by Matt Maisano

Best Short Film AFME 2017
Uncle Silas - Directed by Rebecca Brillhart & Sayra Player
1st Runner Up - Rocket - Directed by Brenna Malloy
2nd Runner Up - A Whole World for a little World - Directed by Fabrice Bracq

Best NM Movie AFME 2017
A Town Called Theocracy - Directed by Jehad N. Al-Khateeb
1st Runner Up - The Prologue - Directed by Andy Kastelic
2nd Runner Up - Fortress Home - Directed by Travis Armstrong

Best Music Video AFME 2017
The Island - Directed by Darrell Lee Hall
1st Runner Up - In the Water - Directed by Michael Faulkner
2nd Runner Up - Take Me to the Sea - Directed by Amy West

Best Animation AFME 2017
Crack'd - Directed by SebastIan Brown
1st Runner Up - Rhythm of Being - Directed by Giada Ghiringhelli
2nd Runner Up - Scent of Geranium - Directed by Naghmeh Farzaneh

Best Short Documentary
Gray Area: Wolves of the Southwest - Directed by Alan Lacy
1st Runner Up - The High School That Rocked - Directed by Christopher Casey Denton
2nd Runner Up - Joshua Tree: Threatened Wonderland - Directed by Bill Wisneski

Audience Choice Award AFME 2017
Awakening In Taos: The Mabel Dodge Lujan Story - Directed by Mark Gordon
1st Runner Up - The Games We Play - Directed by Annika Marks & Rich Newey
2nd Runner Up - The Backroom - Directed by Albert Fry, Jr.

AFME 2017 Community Partner Award
Daryl Custer of Legacy Mortgage and Daryl Custer Photography
Presented to a person or company who has made a significant impact to the community with their time and their resources, and who has gone above and beyond the call of duty assisting AFME.

AFME 2018 will take place June 4 - 10, 2018. Honored guests and showcase events will be announced in late 2017.

About AFME: The AFME Foundation, a non-profit 501 (c) (3) organization, supports the nurturing, success and growth of a vibrant creative community, specifically through film, music and the arts, and seeks to help further a world-class economic center of excellence for these industries in Albuquerque, New Mexico. It produces the Albuquerque Film & Music Experience (AFME), an annual film and music festival, attracts prominent attendees, filmmakers, musicians and visionaries from around the globe to celebrate the art of storytelling and collaborate into the future. The Foundation also supports the Albuquerque film, music and art scenes through creation, facilitation and support of complimentary, mission-based projects and programs. Our purpose is to provide opportunities for future generations, while increasing exposure and economic impact for the City of Albuquerque, the State of New Mexico and our partners.

Related Articles View More Albuquerque Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You