tv.broadwayworld.com

Michael Phelps Takes Final Swim of London Olympics Tonight on NBC, 8/4

Related: Michael Phelps, London 2012 Olympics, NBC

Michael Phelps, the most-decorated Olympian of all time with 20 medals, swims for his finAl Gold medal of the London Olympics tonight, Saturday, August 4, in the 4x100 medley relay. Phelps will swim the butterfly leg. Missy Franklin is expected to anchor the women's 4x100 medley relay in the freestyle leg. Also in primetime, reigning world champion Carmelita Jeter is expected to sprint for the gold in the women's 100m on the track tomorrow night.

This weekend's daytime coverage on NBC will be LIVE across the country featuring the two gold medal tennis finals.

Today, coverage starts at 9 a.m. ET/8 a.m. CT/7 a.m. MT/6 a.m. PT, and features Serena Williams and Maria Sharapova playing for Olympic gold at Wimbledon. Also featured in Saturday's live daytime show is Team USA's men's volleyball vs. Russia live at 11:45 a.m. ET. Then, at 2:40 p.m. ET, Team USA's men's water polo, the number one ranked seed in their group, faces the number two ranked seed, Serbia live on NBC. At 4:15 p.m. ET, NBC airs live coverage of the men's 10,000m gold medal final from the track, and then from her Majesty's Horse Guards Parade, Team USA's Jake Gibb and Sean Rosenthal take on Kostantin Semenov and Sergey Prokopyev of Russia in a beach volleyball round of 16 match live at 5 p.m. ET.

On Sunday, live coverage starts at 6 a.m. ET/5 a.m. CT/4 a.m. MT/3 a.m. PT, and features Great Britain's Andy Murray facing off against Wimbledon champion Roger Federer in a rematch at Centre Court. Federer defeatEd Murray in July to capture his record-tying seventh Wimbledon title.

Live on NBC Sports Network today, Team USA's men's basketball returns to the court to play Lithuania after setting an Olympic record high score with 156 points.

All of the events mentioned above, and all other events will be live streamed on NBCOlympics.com and the NBC Olympics Live Extra app, available on mobile devices and tablets. The vast majority of live stream content will only be available to authenticated cable, satellite or telco customers. For more information on live streaming, go to: NBCOlympics.com/LiveExtra.

For the full schedule of NBCUniversal's Olympic coverage, visit NBCOlympics.com.

Listings subject to change (all times ET unless otherwise noted).

SATURDAY, AUGUST 4 (Day 8)

NBC

9 a.m. - 6 p.m. ET
8 a.m. - 5 p.m. CT
7 a.m. - 4 p.m. MT
6 a.m. - 3 p.m. PT
Women's Tennis - Singles Gold Medal Final: Serena Williams (U.S.) vs. Maria Sharapova (Russia) (LIVE)
Men's Beach Volleyball - Gibb/Rosenthal (U.S.) vs. Semenov/Prokoplev (Russia) (LIVE)
Track and Field -
Men's 10,000M Gold Medal Final (LIVE)
Qualifying Rounds
Men's Volleyball - U.S. vs. Russia (LIVE)
Men's Water Polo - U.S. vs. Serbia (LIVE)
Cycling - Track Gold Medal Final
Rowing - Gold Medal Finals
Women's Gymnastics - Trampoline Gold Medal Final

· LIVE coverage of the men's 10,000m track and field final. Somalian-born Londoner Mo Farah, who now trains in Portland under U.S. distance legend Alberto Salazar and alongside Galen Rupp, will attempt to win Great Britain's first ever gold medal in this event. Among Farah's competition will be Rupp, his friend and training partner who holds the American record in the event. Plus, key qualifying rounds in track and field, including the men's 400m, where South Africa's Oscar Pistorius, a double amputee, seeks a berth in the semifinal round.

· LIVE coverage of the women's tennis final from the prestigious grass courts of Wimbledon.

· LIVE coverage of the U.S. men's volleyball team against Russia. The American men won their first Olympic gold in 20 years in Beijing and have been surging recently as they look to repeat as Olympic champions.

· LIVE coverage of the U.S. men's water polo team against perennial power Serbia. The U.S. men earned a surprise silver in Beijing, but are focused on gold in London. Led by captain Tony Azevedo, the team sacrificed hundreds of thousands of dollars collectively by not playing professionally overseas this year to train together for the Olympics.

· Plus, gold medal finals in track cycling, rowing and the women's trampoline final in gymnastics.

8 p.m. - Midnight (ET/PT)
Swimming - Gold Medal Finals
Men's and Women's 4 x 100M Medley Relays
Women's 50M Freestyle
Track and Field - Gold Medal Finals
Men's Long Jump
Women's 100M
Beach Volleyball - May-Treanor/Walsh Jennings (U.S.) vs. Van Iersel/Kelzer (Netherlands)
Women's Diving - Springboard Semifinals

· On the last night of swimming, Michael Phelps is back in the pool for the final time, leading Team USA in the medley relay, which the Americans have won every time they've raced. Phelps will swim the butterfly leg of the relay, a fitting bookend to an Olympic career that began 12 years ago in Sydney, when he swam the 200m butterfly as a 15-year-old. In the women's medley relay, the Americans are strong favorites to overtake 2008 Olympic champion Australia and win gold, as they did at the 2011 World Championships. Teen sensation Missy Franklin is expected to anchor. And in the men's 1500m, swimmers will swim nearly a full mile in pursuit of Olympic gold. Sun Yang, who was born in China but trains in Australia, is the world record holder.

· At the Olympic Stadium, the USA-Jamaica sprint rivalry promises to heat up the London track. In the women's 100m, Los Angeles native Carmelita Jeter, a first-time Olympian at 32, is the reigning world champion and the second-fastest woman ever over 100m. She'll face a strong challenge from a formidable trio from Jamaica. In the heptathlon, Beijing silver medalist Hyleas Fountain, who grew up idolizing the great Jackie Joyner-Kersee, is looking to upgrade to gold in her second Olympics.

· In women's springboard diving, Chicago's Christina Loukas is looking to build on her fourth-place finish at last year's world championships and reach the Olympic podium. While former Stanford star Cassidy Krug, who quit diving for a year after failing in her second attempt to make an Olympic team in 2008, defeated Loukas at Trials and, at 27, is diving better than ever before.

12:30 a.m. - 1:30 a.m. (ET/PT)
Track and Field - Gold Medal Finals
Cycling - Track Events
Men's Swimming - 1500M Freestyle Gold Medal Final

· Discus thrower Stephanie Brown-Trafton, who won gold in Beijing, set an American record in May and will attempt to defend her title.

NBC SPORTS NETWORK

4 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Men's Basketball - Qualifying Round (LIVE)
U.S. vs. Lithuania (LIVE)
Russia vs. Spain (LIVE)
Women's Triathlon (LIVE)
Men's Tennis - Doubles Gold Medal Final: Bryan/Bryan (U.S.) vs. Tsonga/Llodra (France) (LIVE)
Beach Volleyball -
Liliana/Baquerizo (Spain) vs. Cicolari/Menegatti (Italy) (LIVE)
Talita/Antonelli (Brazil) vs. Slukova/Kolocova (Czech Republic)
Women's Field Hockey - U.S. vs. New Zealand (LIVE)
Men's Volleyball - Bulgaria vs. Argentina (LIVE)
Equestrian - Jumping Qualifying Round
Cycling - Track Events
Women's Shooting - Trap Gold Medal Final
NBC SPORTS NETWORK HIGHLIGHTS

· The U.S. men's basketball team, led by LeBron James and Kobe Bryant, continues its pursuit of a second straight gold medal. Plenty of other live coverage, including the women's triathlon from historic Hyde Park, featuring former University of Wisconsin swimmer and runner Gwen Jorgensen, who took leave from her job as a tax accountant at Ernst and Young to train for the Games. Jorgenson won the test event on the Olympic course last summer.

MSNBC

7 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Men's Soccer Quarterfinals -
Japan vs. Egypt (LIVE)
Mexico vs. Senegal (LIVE)
Brazil vs. Honduras (LIVE)
Great Britain vs. South Korea (LIVE)
Men's Water Polo - Montenegro vs. Romania
Women's Badminton - Singles and Doubles Gold Medal Final
Men's Weightlifting - 94 KG Gold Medal Final
Men's Track and Field - 20K Walk
MSNBC HIGHLIGHTS

· A men's soccer marathon, with live coverage of all four quarterfinal contests. Plus men's water polo action and the gold medal final of badminton women's singles.

CNBC

8:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
Boxing - Elimination Bouts (LIVE)
3:30 - 6:30 p.m.
Boxing - Elimination Bouts (LIVE)
CNBC HIGHLIGHTS

· Staten Island native Marcus Browne looks to continue a proud tradition of New York boxing with his round of 16 bout in the light heavyweight tournament.


BLOGS
Spoiler Alert! Recap and Review: AMERICAN HORROR STORY: FREAK SHOW Welcomes 'Edward Mordrake,' Emma RobertsSpoiler Alert! AHS: FREAK SHOW 'Edward Mordrake;' Recap Updating LIVE! BroadwayWorld's Matt Tamanini Discusses Broadway, TV, Film on THAT'LL PLAY PODCAST
BWW's Matt Tamanini Discusses Theatre, TV, Film on THAT'LL PLAY PODCAST
dotted line
But, Wait! What's On TV Tonight? Wed., Oct. 22nd: Neighbors, Freaks, & Country Singers 8:00: SURVIVOR | CBS

10:00: AMERICAN HORROR STORY | FX

10:00: NASHVILLE | ABC

Click for more picks!

Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber