The Richmond Symphony Presents SUMMER AT CENTERSTAGE, Now thru 8/28

The Richmond Symphony Presents SUMMER AT CENTERSTAGE, Now thru 8/28

The Richmond Symphony has announced a new summer concert series starting in July, 2014 entitled Summer at CenterStage. In its inaugural season, the eight one-hour long recital style concerts will feature the complete sonatas of Johannes Brahms as well as other works for piano and solo instrument. Summer at CenterStage is perfect for those new to the classical music experience, as well as for the most die-hard listeners and offers fantastic music in a relaxed environment.

This Series is in partnership with CenterStage, University of Richmond and VCUArts.

Tickets are just $20 and include a beverage! Tickets online at or 1.800.514 ETIX. Full and flex subscription packages range from $54 - $136 and are available by calling 804.788.1212. Both single tickets and subscriptions go on sale, Thursday, May 8, 2014.

Concert dates, programs and participating artists are as follows:

TODAY, July 10, 2014
Daisuke Yamamoto, violin Doris Wylee- Becker, piano

Clara Schumann: Brahms:
Robert Schumann:

Scherzo for Violin and Piano in C minor, Op. 4 Drei Romanzen, Op. 22
Three Intermezzi, Op. 117
Sonata in A minor, Op. 105

July 17, 2014
Barbara Gaden, cello Russell Wilson, piano

Brahms: Sonata for Piano and Cello in E minor, Op. 38 Beethoven: Seven Variations on "Bei Ma?nnern welche Liebe fu?hlen"

Additional selections TBD

July 24, 2014
Ellen Cockerham, violin Maria Yefimova, piano

from Mozart's The Magic Flute

Brahms: Sonata for Violin and Piano in G major, Op. 78 Grieg: Violin Sonata No. 3 in C minor, Op. 45

July 31, 2014
Jason McComb, cello Joanne Kong, piano

Henry Cowell: Brahms:

Sonata in F major

Four Declamations with Return

Sonata for Cello and Piano in F major, Op. 99

August 7, 2014
Charles West, clarinet
Yin Zheng, piano
Xi Zhang, piano (visiting from Shanghai Normal University, China)

Brahms: Sonata for Clarinet and Piano in F minor, Op.120 Brahms: Klavierstucke, Op.118
Dvorak: Slavonic Dances