PIPPIN Articles
Click for More Articles on PIPPIN...

They've Got Magic to Do! Kyle Dean Massey and Ciara Renée to Join Cast of PIPPIN on April 1

The producers of the Tony Award winning Pippin just announced that Kyle Dean Massey (Next to Normal, Wicked) and Ciara Renée (Big Fish) will assume the roles of "Pippin" and "Leading Player" (respectively) in the production beginning Tuesday, April 1, 2014. Matthew James Thomas and Tony Award winner Patina Miller will play their final performance on Sunday, March 30, 2014. Pippin is now playing at the Music Box Theatre (239 West 45th Street).

Kyle Dean Massey just finished playing Fiyero in Broadway's Wicked. Other theatre credits include Next to Normal, Xanadu, Lucky Guy, and Altar Boyz. In addition to his stage work, Kyle Dean has been seen on the small screen in "Inside Amy Schumer " on Comedy Central, "Up All Night" on NBC, "Hart of Dixie" on the CW, "Cupid" on ABC, and "The Good Wife" on CBS. Films credits include Sex and the City 2 and the independent feature, The Contest. He has also performed on "Good Morning America," "The CBS Early Show," "Regis & Kelly" & "The 62nd Annual Tony Awards." Kyle Dean was most recently seen on the acclaimed web series High Maintenance.

Ciara Renée made her Broadway debut this season in Big Fish playing the role of The Witch. She is a recent graduate of Baldwin-Wallace College and has appeared in workshops for The Hunchback of Notre Dame (Esmeralda), Lin-Manuel Miranda's The Hamilton Mixtape (Peggy/Maria), Three Little Pigs (Siu) and Bull Durham.

Roger O. Hirson and Stephen Schwartz's Tony Award winning musical comedy Pippin is directed by Tony Award winner Diane Paulus and features choreography by Tony Award nominee Chet Walker in the style of Bob Fosse and circus creation by Gypsy Snider of the Montreal-based circus company Les 7 doigts de la main (also known as 7 Fingers).

The current cast features Matthew James Thomas as Pippin, Tony Award winner Patina Miller as Leading Player, Tony Award nominee Terrence Mann as Charles, Tony Award nominee Charlotte d'Amboise as Fastrada,Rachel Bay Jones as Catherine and Emmy and Golden Globe Award nominee Annie Potts as Berthe. Other members of the company include Erik Altemus, Colin Cunliffe, Fernando Dudka, Andrew Fitch, Orion Griffiths, Viktoria Grimmy, Sabrina Harper, Kelsey Jamieson, Preston Jamieson, Olga Karmansky, Richard Maguire, Luke Kolbe Mannikus, Gabrielle McClinton, Bethany Moore, Brad Musgrove, Billy Harrigan Tighe, Molly Tynes, Anthony Wayne, Ashton Woerz.

Related Articles

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts