Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

SOUND OF MUSIC Touring Nuns to Sing SWEENEY TODD in D.C.

SOUND OF MUSIC Touring Nuns to Sing SWEENEY TODD in D.C. Exeunt Productions in association with La Ti Do Productions present concert selections from Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street at Penn Social on Thursday, June 29th at 11:30pm.

From the hills of Austria to the seedy streets of London, come witness the angelic nuns of the Broadway Touring Company of The Sound of Music whip off those wimples and get down-and-dirty in Stephen Sondheim's twisted, thrilling masterpiece!

Directed by Robert Mammana, with musical director Cathy Venable on piano and Hayden Oliver on violin.

Donna Garner as Mrs. Lovett
Anna Mintzer as Johanna
Carey ReBecca Brown as The Beggar Woman
Jillian Jameson as Tobias
Rebecca Pitcher as Pirelli

With Austin Colby, Mark Bradley Miller, Kara von Aschwege, Michael Spaziani, Zane Phillips, and Robert Mammana

Tickets are available now for $20 via THIS LINK or at the door beginning at 11 p.m. at Penn Social located at 801 E Street, NW, Washington, DC 20004. Attendees must be at least 21 years old.

Rights for selections from Sweeney Todd provided by the Bethesda Music Festival.

Curated and hosted by Don Michael Mendoza and Regie Cabico, La-Ti-Do made its debut to a full house in Washington, DC on January 23, 2012 at The Black Fox Lounge in Dupont Circle. Since then, La-Ti-Do became DC's premiere musical theatre cabaret and spoken word series to serve the artistic community on a weekly basis. On June 9, 2013, the show then opened a touring chapter in New York City and continues to do so on a select basis and made a special appearance at Feinstein's/54 Below. In 2016, La-Ti-Do became a program of a parent company: Winter's Lane Productions under the direction of Founder/Artistic Director Anya Randall Nebel. Currently, the DC chapter remains in Dupont Circle housed at the Bistro Bistro restaurant and the NYC chapter at the Dramatists Guild Fund, Inc.

Past musical performers include Helen Hayes Award nominees and recipients: Nicholas Rodriguez, Priscilla Cuellar, Diana Huey, Nova Y. Payton, Erin Driscoll, Matt Conner, Chris Sizemore, Will Gartshore, and Joshua Morgan alongside international spoken word artists: Gail Danley, Sonya Renee Taylor, Sophia Walker and Vijai Nathan.

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes, and More from Your Favorite Broadway Stars

Related Articles View More Washington, DC Stories

More Hot Stories For You