Get Tickets Now

£20 - £60

Theatre Information

Shaftesbury Theatre (London, )
Holborn end of Shaftesbury Avenue


Monday through Saturday at 7:30pm
Thursday and Saturday at 3pm

Get Show News + Discounts

Hairspray Production Information


October 11, 2007


October 30, 2007

Closing:March 28, 2010
Theatres: Shaftesbury Theatre (London, )
10/11/2007 - 3/28/2010

Production Type:Original Production
Production Status:
Run Type:Open Run
Market:West End
Version:Original Broadway Version
Official Website


Other Productions of Hairspray

2010   US Tour National Tour
US Tour
2000   New York Reading
New York
2002   Broadway Original Broadway Production
2003   US Tour National Tour
US Tour
2004   Toronto Toronto Production
2006   Las Vegas Las Vegas Production
Las Vegas
2006   Beverly, MA (Regional) North Shore Music Theatre Production
Beverly, MA (Regional)
2007   West End London Production
West End


Audio Recordings

2001  Demo #1
2001  Sampler
2002  Original Broadway Cast

Show Information

SHOW TYPE: Musical

Score Overview

The following is a list of songs in the show or that have been included in the show in various versions:

Main Program

Good Morning Baltimore
The Nicest Kids in Town
Mama, I'm a Big Girl Now
I Can Hear the Bells
(The Legend of) Miss Baltimore Crabs
The Madison
It Takes Two
Welcome to the '60s
Run and Tell That
Big, Blonde & Beautiful
The Big Dollhouse
Timeless to Me
Without Love
I Know Where I've Been
You Can't Stop the Beat

Cut prior to Broadway

Velma's Cha-Cha
Blood on the Pavement
New Girl in Town

Hairspray - 2007 West End Awards and Nominations

(winners are in red)

Olivier Awards - 2008 - Best Actor in a Musical
Michael Ball
Olivier Awards - 2008 - Best Costume Design
William Ivey Long
Olivier Awards - 2008 - Best Director
Jack O’Brien
Olivier Awards - 2008 - Best Lighting Design
Kenneth Posner
Olivier Awards - 2008 - Best New Musical
Mark O’Donnell
Olivier Awards - 2008 - Best Performance in a Supporting Role in a Musical
Tracie Bennett
Elinor Collett
Olivier Awards - 2008 - Best Set Design
David Rockwell
Olivier Awards - 2008 - Best Sound Design
Steve C. Kennedy
Olivier Awards - 2008 - Best Theatre Choreographer
Jerry Mitchell
Evening Standard Awards - 2007 - Ned Sherrin Award for Best Musical