Winners of 2017 Edinburgh Comedy Awards Announced

Winners of 2017 Edinburgh Comedy Awards AnnouncedMark Gatiss, Steve Pemberton and Reece Shearsmith of The League of Gentlemen. and 2016 winner Richard Gadd presented the 2017 Edinburgh Comedy Awards today at a ceremony at the Dovecot Studios in Edinburgh.

Today Nica Burns, Director of the Awards announced the winners of this year's Edinburgh Comedy Awards.

Nica Burns said: An outstanding shortlist in a brilliant year for comedy has resulted in an unprecedented decision. It is fitting that in the 70th anniversary year of the Fringe something extraordinary has happened. I am surprised and delighted to announce that for the first time in the history of the awards there are two winners of the 2017 Best Comedy Show. In alphabetical order they are Hannah Gadsby- Nanette and John Robins: The Darkness of Robins.

Both shows, which could not be more different, were hotly debated and fiercely fought for. Comedy has many possibilities and audiences very different funny bones. These two incredibly talented winners make you laugh and touch your heart.

And yes, they will both receive £10,000 each so it's been an expensive year; in the 37 years of the Edinburgh Comedy Awards this has never happened before and it is unlikely it will ever happen again. Long may comedy break the rules!

The nominees for the Best Comedy Show Award were: Ahir Shah: Control, Elf Lyons: Swan, Hannah Gadsby - Nanette, Jordan Brookes: Body of Work, Mae Martin: Dope, Mat Ewins Presents Adventureman 7: The Return of Adventureman, John Robins: The Darkness of Robins, Sophie Willan: Branded and Spencer Jones: The Audition.

The winner of the Best Newcomer Award is Natalie Palamides: LAID a wonderfully enthralling dark comedy about a woman's relationship with her own fertility.

The nominees for 2017 were Chris Washington: Dream Big (Within Reason)Darren Harriott: Defiant, Ed Night: Anthem for Doomed Youth, Kwame Asante: Open Arms, Lauren Pattison: Lady Muck, Lucy Pearman: Maid of Cabbage, Natalie Palamides: LAID and Rob Kemp: The Elvis Dead.

Again in an unprecedented year the panel decided not to award a Panel Prize
The prize money for best comedy show is £10,000 and £5,000 for the Best Newcomer. The 2017 winners and nominees can be seen on Sunday 27 August at the Edinburgh Comedy Awards Show at the EICC, The Exchange, Edinburgh at 15.30.

Related Articles View More Scotland Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram