7th Annual ECNY Awards Nominees Announced


The ECNY Awards, New York's original comedy awards, are honored to announce the nominees for the 7th Annual Awards. Voting is now open to the general public at ECNYawards.com, and winners will be announced at the 7th Annual ECNY Awards ceremony, held March 14, 2011, at 8:30PM; at 92Y Tribeca, 200 Hudson Street. The ceremony will be hosted for the fourth year in a row by Jon Friedman (The Rejection Show).

"Our Selection Committee has once again delivered a fantastic list of comedians working at the top of their field," said ECNY producer Kambri Crews. "That field, of course, being farming."

Nominees were selected after a public nomination process, and voting by a committee composed of industry professionals. The nominees were announced live by Raw Dog's own Mark Seman on SiriusXM Radio, and simultaneously on Ustream.tv and Twitter by ECNY Producer Kambri Crews. A complete list of nominees is available online at ECNYawards.com, or for your convenience, listed below.

Groups or individuals were eligible for nomination in eighteen different categories, including the following returning awards: Best Female Stand-Up Comedian; Best Male Stand-Up Comedian; Best Sketch Comedy Group; Best Host; Best Improv Group; Best Musical Comedy Act (Solo or Group); Best One Person Show; Best Comedic Video (Short or Series); Best Variety Show; Best Website; Best Book; Best Technician; Best Flyer or Postcard Design; The Emerging Comic Award; Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Tweeting; Best Podcast; Best Comedy Event; and Best Storyteller.

The Awards, a mainstay of the New York comedy scene, returned in 2007 with a completely revamped production team, after an almost two year hiatus. After sold out ceremonies the last three years, The ECNYs, now called the Excellence in Comedy New York Awards, continue to celebrate the comedic performing arts in New York City by honoring the best, funniest, and most creative performers, shows, and producers working in the field.

Some previous recipients of an ECNY Award include:

- Hannibal Buress (Best Male Stand-Up Comedian; "Saturday Night Live," "30 Rock")
- Derrick (Best Sketch Comedy Group, 2008; "Mystery Team")
- Kumail Nanjiani (Best Male Stand-Up Comedian, Best One Person Show, 2008; Comedy Central's "Michael & Michael Have Issues")
- Lennon Parham (The Emerging Comic Award, 2008; ABC's "Accidentally on Purpose")
- Nick Kroll (Best One Person Show, 2007; FOX's "Sit Down Shut Up")
- The Onion News Network (Best Web Site, 2007)
- John Mulaney (Best Male Stand-Up Comedian, 2007; "Saturday Night Live")
- Kristen Schaal (Best Female Stand-Up Comedian, 2007; "Flight of the Conchords")
- Eugene Mirman & Michael Showalter (Best Host, 2007; "Stella")
- Aziz Ansari (Best Male Stand-up, 2005; NBC's "Parks and Recreation")
- Jessi Klein (Best Female Stand-Up, 2003; Best Host, 2005; Comedy Central's "Michael and Michael Have Issues")
- Sara Schaefer (Best Host, 2004; NBC's "Late Night With Jimmy Fallon")
- Mike Birbiglia (Best Male Stand-up, 2003; Broadway's "Sleepwalk With Me")
- John Gemberling & Curtis Gwinn (Best Duo, 2003; Adult Swim's "Fat Guy Stuck in Internet")

The ECNY Awards are produced by Kambri Crews (Balyhoo Productions), Jon Friedman (The Rejection Show), Carol Hartsell (Drink at Work), Nate Sloan (The Apiary), and Alex Zalben (SketchFest NYC).

This year's Awards are sponsored by 92Y Tribeca, Harvey Altman & Co., Gotham Comedy Club, and Supermango Media. For more information, or if you would like to sponsor this year's Awards, please visit the website at ECNYAwards.com.

WHAT: The ECNY Awards

WHEN: March 14, 2011, at 8:30 PM

WHERE: 92Y Tribeca; 200 Hudson Street



Best Male Stand-up Comedian
Dan St. Germain
Kurt Braunohler
Mike Lawrence
Sean Patton
Ted Alexandro

Best Female Stand-up Comedian
Amy Schumer
Andrea Rosen
Brooke Van Poppelen
Marina Franklin
Sara Schaefer

Best Sketch Comedy Group
Harvard Sailing Team
Serious Lunch
Two Fun Men

Best Host
Chris Gethard
Kurt Braunohler and Kristen Schaal
Nick Turner and Jason Saenz
Sean Crespo and Dan Wilbur
Seth Herzog

Best Improv Group
2 Square
Big Black Car
Adsit & Gausas
Death By Roo Roo

Best Musical Comedy Act (Solo or Group)
Adira Amram & The Experience
Ben Lerman
Fearsome presents: Grease 3: Threase
The Gregory Brothers
Stuckey and Murray

Best One Person Show
Adam Wade - Originally from New Hampshire
Jon Friedman - Bear With Me
Pam Murphy - The C-Word
Paul W. Downs - The Paul Downs Syndrome
Shannon O'Neill - Prison Freaks

Best Comedic Video (Short or Series)
Academy Award Winning Movie Trailer - BriTANick
BP Spills Coffee - UCBComedy.com
Please Give Me One Million Dollars - Craig Rowin
Marcel the Shell with Shoes On - Jenny Slate and Dean Fleischer-Camp
Broad City - Ilana Glazer, Abbi Jacobson and Rob Michael Hugel

Best Variety Show
Hot Tub with Kurt and Kristen
Righteous Kill
The Chris Gethard Show

Best Website

Best Technician
Beowulf Jones
Frank Hejl
Katey Healy-Wurzburg
Marcus Parks
Mike Cirelli

Best Flyer or Postcard Design
Broad City @ 92YTribeca - Abbi Jacobson
Heart of Darkness - Dima Drjuchin
Lasers in the Jungle - Mindy Tucker
Rubber Bullets - Scott Moran
The Paul Downs Syndrome

Best Book
Get Psyched - Rob Lathan and Will Hines
I Don't Care About Your Band - Julie Klausner
Look at This Fucking Hipster - Joe Mande
Sex: Our Bodies, Our Junk - Jason Roeder, Mike Sacks, Ted Travelstead, Scott Jacobson, and Todd Levin
Sexy Book of Sexy Sex - Kristen Schaal and Rich Blomquist

Best Comedy Podcast
In the Tank
Keith and The Girl
The Comedy Nerds
RISK! True Tales, Boldly Told
The UCB Theatre Podcast

Best Comedy Event
12th Annual Del Close Marathon
50 First Jokes
The Eugene Mirman Comedy Festival
Meatsteak Presents Your Favorite Show: TAXI
Schtick or Treat

Best Storyteller
Adam Wade
Elna Baker
John Flynn
Kevin Allison
Margo Leitman
Tom Shillue

Outstanding Achievement in the Field Of Tweeting

The Emerging Comic Award
Adrienne Iapulucci
Ilana Glazer
Jared Logan
Mike Recine
Nick Turner
Paul W. Downs


Related Articles

Off-Off-Broadway THEATER Stories | Shows

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...