Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

THE HOUSE THAT WILL NOT STAND Extends Run At New York Theatre Workshop

The House That Will Not StandNew York Theatre Workshop (NYTW) (Artistic Director James C. Nicola and Managing Director Jeremy Blocker) announced today a one-week extension for the New York Premiere of The House That Will Not Stand by Marcus Gardley (X: Or, Betty Shabazz v. The Nation), directed by NYTW Usual Suspect and Obie Award winner Lileana Blain-Cruz (Red Speedo; Pipeline). The House That Will Not Stand began previews on Wednesday, July 11, 2018, and opened Monday, July 30 at New York Theatre Workshop (79 E. 4th Street New York, NY 10003). Originally set to close on Sunday, August 12, The House That Will Not Stand will now run through Sunday, August 19, 2018.

The cast for The House That Will Not Stand includes Helen Hayes Award nominee Joniece Abbott-Pratt (NBC's "Blindspot," Netflix's "Luke Cage"), Juliana Canfield (He Brought Her Heart Back in a Box), Helen Hayes Award nominee Harriett D. Foy (Amélie), Helen Hayes Award winner Lynda Gravátt (This Flat Earth), Nedra McClyde (Marvin's Room), Marie Thomas (Having Our Say) and Tony Award nominee Michelle Wilson (Sweat).

The creative team includes scenic designer Adam Rigg (The Mad Ones), costume designer Montana Levi Blanco (Red Speedo), lighting designer Yi Zhao (Pipeline), and sound design and original music by Justin Ellington (Until the Flood). Wig design is by Cookie Jordan (Once on this Island) and movement is by Raja Feather Kelly (The Death of the Last Black Man in the Whole Entire World). The dialect and vocal coach is Dawn-Elin Fraser (Once on this Island). Terri K. Kohler (In the Blood) serves as stage manager.

In the heat of summer, Louisiana passed from France to the United States. On the eve of the transfer, in a house in mourning, freedom hangs in the balance for a steely widow and her three eligible daughters, all free women of color. Inspired by Federico García Lorca's The House of Bernarda Alba, Marcus Gardley's lyrical, nuanced play, The House That Will Not Stand, is directed by Lileana Blain-Cruz.

Single tickets for The House That Will Not Stand start at $65. Additionally, a CHEAPTIX $25 day-of ticket rush will be available for young people, seniors, artists and Lower East Side residents. Rush tickets are subject to availability and are sold cash-only, limit two per person. Proper identification is required for all rush tickets. Youth (ages 25 and under) and seniors (ages 65+) may present an ID indicating date-of-birth; Artists may present an ID and a program or union card; Lower East Side residents may present an ID that includes your address.

The performance schedule for The House That Will Not Stand is as follows: Tuesday and Wednesday at 7pm, Thursday and Friday at 8pm, Saturday at 2pm & 8pm, Sunday at 1pm and 7pm. Exceptions: there will be no 7pm performance on Sunday, August 12. The performance on Wednesday, August 15 will be at 8pm. The matinee performance on Sunday, August 19 will be at 2pm.

The 2017/18 season began with the New York premiere of Mary Jane by NYTW Usual Suspect and Pulitzer Prize Finalist Amy Herzog (4000 Miles, Belleville), directed by NYTW Usual Suspect and two-time Obie Award winner Anne Kauffman (Sundown, Yellow Moon; A Life); followed by Hundred Days, with a book by The Bengsons (Iphigenia in Aulis) and Sarah Gancher (The Place We Built), music and lyrics by The Bengsons, direction by Anne Kauffman, and movement direction by Obie Award winner Sonya Tayeh (you'll still call me by name). The season continued with the World Premiere of An Ordinary Muslim, by NYTW Usual Suspect and 2017-18 Tow Foundation Playwright-in-Residence Hammaad Chaudry (Salaam, Mr. Bush), directed by NYTW Usual Suspect and Obie Award winner Jo Bonney (The Body of An American); followed by Light Shining in Buckinghamshire, by NYTW Usual Suspect and five-time Obie Award winner Caryl Churchill (Love and Information; A Number) directed by NYTW Usual Suspect, Tony Award nominee, & three-time Obie Award winner Rachel Chavkin (Hadestown; Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812).

New York Theatre Workshop's 2018/19 season will begin in Fall 2018 with What the Constitution Means to Me by two-time Obie Award winner Heidi Schreck (Grand Concourse, "I Love Dick") and directed by Obie Award winner Oliver Butler (The Amateurs, The Light Years); followed by the New York Premiere of Slave Play by Jeremy O. Harris (Daddy), directed by two-time Obie Award winner Robert O'Hara (Bootycandy). The season continues in 2019 with the first co-production of a two-play collaboration with WP Theater (Artistic Director Lisa McNulty and Managing Director Michael Sag), Hurricane Diane, by Pulitzer Prize finalist Madeleine George (The (curious case of the) Watson Intelligence) and directed by Tony Award nominee, two-time Obie Award winner and NYTW Usual Suspect Leigh Silverman (Violet). The second co-production will take place at WP Theater with details to be announced at a later date. Following Hurricane Diane is Sanctuary City, by 2018 Pulitzer Prize winner, NYTW Usual Suspect and former 2050 Fellow Martyna Majok (queens, Ironbound). The 2018/19 Season will conclude with a new project from Pulitzer Prize finalist, MacArthur Award winner and NYTW Usual Suspect Anna Deavere Smith (Notes from the Field, Fires in the Mirror). Season memberships are available at or 212-460-5475.

New York Theatre Workshop, now in its fourth decade of incubating important new works of theatre, continues to honor its mission to explore perspectives on our collective history and respond to the events and institutions that shape all our lives. Each season, from its home in New York's East Village, NYTW presents five new productions, over 80 readings and numerous workshop productions for over 45,000 audience members. NYTW supports artists in all stages of their careers by maintaining a series of workshop programs, including work-in-progress readings, summer residencies and artist fellowships. Since its founding, NYTW has produced over 150 new, fully staged works, including Jonathan Larson's Rent; Tony Kushner's Slavs! and Homebody/Kabul; Doug Wright's Quills; Claudia Shear's Blown Sideways Through Life and Dirty Blonde; Paul Rudnick's The Most Fabulous Story Ever Told and Valhalla; Martha Clarke's Vienna: Lusthaus; Will Power's The Seven and Fetch Clay, Make Man; Caryl Churchill's Mad Forest, Far Away, A Number and Love and Information; Jessica Blank and Erik Jensen's Aftermath; Rick Elice's Peter and the Starcatcher; Glen Hansard, Markéta Irglová and Enda Walsh's Once; David Bowie and Enda Walsh's Lazarus; Dael Orlandersmith's The Gimmick and Forever; Anaïs Mitchell's Hadestown; and eight acclaimed productions directed by Ivo van Hove. NYTW's productions have received a Pulitzer Prize, seventeen Tony Awards and assorted Obie, Drama Desk and Lucille Lortel Awards.

Featured at the Theatre Shop

T-Shirts, Mugs, Phone Cases & More

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You