Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Mara Wilson to Serve as Judge at York's TUNE IN TIME Next Week

By popular demand, The York Theatre Company and producers Amy Engelhardt and Heather Shields, will present the March edition of the new musical theater game show called Tune in Time, hosted by Emily McNamara. Music direction is by Nate Buccieri, and Sheila Head is the annoyingly insistent timekeeper, on Monday, March 9, 2015 at The York Theatre Company at Saint Peter's (Citicorp Building, entrance on East 54th Street, just east of Lexington Avenue). Additional dates announced include April 5, May 4, with more to come. All performances will begin at 7:30 p.m.

In this "Musical Theater Olympics," three teams of composers and lyricists who have never worked together are forced to collaborate - and to beat the clock! Their task? They must write a song from a new Broadway musical, the title of which is picked from a hatful of audience suggestions - in the style determined by a spin of the dreaded Genre Wheel - all within 20 minutes. Tune in Time is an evening of edge-of-your-seat suspense, brain-frying bravery, and Broadway trivia. Each edition of Tune in Time features a different roster of musical theater composers and lyricists as well as a panel of celebrity judges.

Songwriters confirmed for March 9th are Will Aronson (My Scary Girl), Brett Boles (Foreverman), Sara Cooper (The Memory Show), Ryan Scott Oliver (Jonathan Larson Grant-winner; Jasper in Deadland), Zach Redler (Loving Leo), and Micah Young (The Story of Bea and Ben).

The panel of illustrious celebrity judges are Joe Iconis (Ed Kleban Award-winner; The Black Suits), Kent Nicholson (Director of Musical Theater, Playwrights Horizons) and Mara Wilson (Welcome to Night Vale; Mrs. Doubtfire; Matilda).

General Admission tickets for Tune in Time are priced at $20 and can be purchased online at, or by visiting the York Theatre Company Box Office (Citicorp Building, entrance on East 54th Street, just east of Lexington Avenue), or by calling the Box Office at (212) 935-5820 during regular business hours (Monday through Friday, 12:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.).

Songwriting winners from February were Kellen Blair (lyricist) and Dave Christensen, (composer) who wrote "The High Octane Chola" from the fictional 50s/60s throwback musical of the same name.

Previous songwriting winners have included David Sisco and Kate Anderson who were paired together and awarded for their stunning duet from the mock operetta, The Moist Aardvark; Dan McKenzie and Ben Wexler who were paired together to write a love duet from the Disney-style musical, The Sticky Snake; Erik Jareth Ransom (two-time champ) and Clay Zambo for their song from the imagined historical epic, The Hairy Ebola; and Avi Amon and Robbie Torres for their original song written for the faux Disney musical, The Lovely Piano.

"A triumph! A rollicking celebration of words and music that skips briskly along the path that wends from the hilarious to the sublime." - Big Yellow Taxi

"Head down to Tune in Time. It is a joyous, hilarious romp that has the added benefit of being an exceptional night of creative genius." - Stage Buddy

For additional information, please visit the website at

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes, and More from Your Favorite Broadway Stars

Related Articles View More Off-Broadway Stories

More Hot Stories For You