Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Actors' Playhouse at the Miracle Theatre to Launch 30th Season with EVITA

Actors' Playhouse at the Miracle Theatre to Launch 30th Season with EVITA

Actors' Playhouse at the Miracle Theatre is proud to kick off its milestone 30th Anniversary Season with Evita, one of the most passionate and powerful musicals in theater history.

In an incredible feat for a Miami professional regional theatre, the company will present the production in English from November 1 - 26, 2017, and then in Spanish from November 30 - December 17, 2017, featuring the same cast.

Winner of seven Tony Awards, Evita brings to life the dynamic, larger-than-life persona of Eva Perón, wife of former Argentine President Juan Perón. Blessed with charisma, Eva Perón captivated a nation by championing the working class. This exuberant production creates a gripping theatrical experience and features Andrew Lloyd Webber's compelling Latin, pop and jazz influenced score. One of the most popular collaborations between Webber and Tim Rice, this legendary musical features some of theater's most beautiful songs, including "Don't Cry for Me, Argentina," "Another Suitcase in Another Hall," and "High Flying, Adored," among many others.

"Actors' Playhouse is thrilled to reprise Evita, one of the most significant productions in our 30-year history, in both English and Spanish," said Actors' Playhouse Artistic Director David Arisco. "Our last production in 2000 featured recent Tony winner Rachel Bay Jones from Broadway's Best Musical Dear Evan Hansen. I'm sure that you will also see several of our 2017 cast members on Broadway in the near future."

Director David Arisco has assembled an all-star cast to bring this epic musical to life including Andrea Pilar as Eva Perón, Eugenio Vargas as Che, Samuel Druhora as Juan Perón, Joshua Dobarganes as Magaldi and Kelly Ziegler as the Mistress. The ensemble features Nicole Coffaro, Diana D'Ambrosio, Rodrigo De La Rosa, Brent D. Kuenning, Taylor Hilt Mitchell, Francisco Padura, Brian Varela, Vicky Campadocino, Yanet Felipe, Jonathan Fleites, Vivian Garcia-Lopez, Santiago Garza, Lauren Horgan, Victoria Lauzen, Michael Leyte-Vidal, Amanda Lopez, Hugo E. Moreno, Brandon Osorio, Nicolette Quintero, Phillip Andrew Santiago, Ryan Townsend, Alexandra Van Hasselt and Hollis Williams.

The design and creative team for Evita includes Musical Direction by David Nagy, Choreography by Ron Hutchins, Scenic Design by Gene Seyffer, Lighting Design by Eric Nelson, Sound/Projection Design by Shaun Mitchell, Costume Design by Ellis Tillman and Properties/Set Dressing Design by Jodi Dellaventura.

The show will open on Friday, November 3 at 8 p.m. in English and play through November 26, 2017. The production will then run November 30 - December 17, 2017 in Spanish. Performance times vary.

Director David Arisco will lead a discussion group with actors and community guests following the performance on November 10, 2017 as part of the company's "Second Fridays" series.

Tickets for weeknights and matinees are $57, and on Friday and Saturday evenings $64. The theatre offers 10 percent off all weekday performances for seniors and $15 student rush tickets to any performance 15 minutes prior to curtain with identification. Discounts are based on availability.

Group discounted rates are offered for 15 or more through our group sales department. Single tickets may be purchased through the box office at 305-444-9293 or online at

Pictured: Samuel Druhora (Juan Perón), Andrea Pilar (Eva Perón) and Eugenio Vargas (Che) star in Evita at Actors' Playhouse at the Miracle Theatre. Photo by Alberto Romeu.

Related Articles View More Miami Stories

More Hot Stories For You