Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Jimmy Awards
Click Here for More Articles on Jimmy Awards

6th Annual Sutton Foster Ovation Award Winners Announced

Catherine Elliott and Antonio Cipriano, both from University Liggett High School in Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, competed in and won the 6th annual Sutton Foster Ovation Awards at Wharton Center on Sunday, May 21, 2017.

The award, named in honor of Michigan's own Broadway star Sutton Foster, is a celebration of outstanding achievement in individual artistry, vocal, dance and acting performances for both a male and female lead in a high school musical theatre production. Elliott and Cipriano were two of the 52 high school drama students from across Michigan to compete for the award.

Elliott and Cipriano were each awarded $1,000 cash, along with a full scholarship to Take It From The Top, Wharton Center's summer Broadway workshop. The winners will also head to New York City to compete in the National High School Musical Theater Awards - otherwise known as the JimmyTM Awards - on June 26, 2017, hosted this year by Dear Evan Hansen's Ben Platt.

Also honored this year was Meghan Eldred, from Dewitt High School, with the Greg Reuter Excellence in Musical Theatre Education Award. The award honors the educator's and the school's commitment to excellence in performing arts education.

The Sutton Foster Ovation Awards partnership includes Wharton Center for Performing Arts, Broadway in Detroit and Broadway Grand Rapids.

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes, and More from Your Favorite Broadway Stars

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You