Lin-Manuel Miranda & Michael Douglas To Give Opening Remarks And Present The 19th Monte Cristo Award

Lin-Manuel Miranda & Michael Douglas To Give Opening Remarks And Present The 19th Monte Cristo Award

The Eugene O'Neill Theater Center, announces that composer, actor and Tony Award-winner, Lin-Manuel Miranda will give the opening remarks at the Eugene O'Neill Theater Center's Monte Cristo Award Gala, while Academy Award-winning actor and O'Neill Center trustee, Michael Douglas will present the iconic statue to playwright and screenwriter John Logan, at the gala evening in celebration of Logan's many achievements being held at the Edison Ballroom (New York) on Monday, April 22, 2019.

Both Lin-Manuel Miranda and Michael Douglas first launched their careers at the Eugene O'Neill Theater Center and both are previous recipients of the Center's annual honor for theatrical excellence. Miranda received the Monte Cristo Award last year at the 2018 ceremony, and Douglas was presented with the honor in 2012.

An alumnus of the O'Neill, John Logan developed the musical Superhero, currently off-Broadway, at the O'Neill's 2017 National Music Theater Conference and his Moulin Rouge bows on Broadway this summer. The O'Neill annually bestows its Monte Cristo Award on a prominent artist whose work has had an extraordinary impact on American theater, in memory of its namesake. The gala event supports the Center's commitment to developing new work and new artists for the stage.

Tickets for the Monte Cristo Award are available at Tickets start at $1,250. Multiple levels available. For sponsorship opportunities or additional information about the event, call 860-443-5378 ext. 288, or email


The Monte Cristo Award is presented to a prominent individual each year in recognition of a distinguished career exemplifying Eugene O'Neill's "pioneering spirit, unceasing artistic commitment, and excellence," and furthering the American theater.

Past recipients of the Award include actors Judith Light, Meryl Streep, Michael Douglas, Nathan Lane, Christopher Plummer, James Earl Jones, Jason Robards, Jr., Zoe Caldwell, Brian Dennehy, & Karl Malden; playwrights August Wilson, Wendy Wasserstein, Edward Albee, & Neil Simon; directors Harold Prince & George C. Wolfe; and Lin-Manuel Miranda & Arthur & Barbara Gelb.

Photo Credit: Walter McBride / WM Photos

Related Articles View More Connecticut Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You