Cincinnati Symphony Presents One City 2018

The Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra and Music Director Louis Langrée present this season's One City concert program November 9-10, at Music Hall. The Orchestra, May Festival Chorus, members of the Classical Roots Community Mass Choir and guest vocal soloists Angel Blue, Jennifer Johnson Cano, Rodrick Dixon, and Dashon Burton.will perform Beethoven's Ninth Symphony. The program opens with the world premiere of Ode by CSO Composer-in-Residence Jonathan Bailey Holland.

This newly commissioned work was written as a "'meditation on/conversation with/prelude/postlude/reckoning with' the idea of writing piece to accompany Beethoven's Ninth Symphony," said Mr. Holland.

According to Mr. Langrée, Beethoven's iconic Ninth Symphony "was and is, of course, a fitting masterpiece for people from all walks of life to discover, explore, and ultimately experience together, which is the goal of One City."

After the performance on Saturday, November 10, the CSO is also introducing a new post-concert experience called CSO night/light. This one-hour concert begins at 10PM with wine in the intimate atmosphere of Music Hall's Wilks Studio, allowing concertgoers to see the evening's soloists in a new light. This performance is $25 and is limited to 150 guests, 21 and over.

This concert is sponsored by Macy's Gives as part of the MAC Open Door Series. The CSO is grateful for Ann and Harry Santen for their support of the newly commissioned work by Jonathan Bailey Holland.

Tickets for One City start at $25 for full view seating and are $10 for limited view. Tickets can be purchased by visiting or calling the CSO Box Office at (513) 381-3300 or visiting

Related Articles View More Cincinnati Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You


Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram