Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on BWW MUSIC NEWS

BWW Previews : Cincinnati Chamber Orchestra Presents Summermusik World Premiere

Music director Eckart Preu is leading the Cincinnati Chamber Orchestra's SUMMERMUSIK Festival. In its second weekend, Preu is conducting A Celestial Voyage on Saturday, August 12 at 7:30 p.m. at the School for Creative and Performing Arts in Over-the-Rhine.

On the program are Dean Regas, outreach astronomer with the Cincinnati Observatory, who will share commentary and images from NASA. Ran Dank, assistant professor of piano at the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music, will perform Camille Saint-Saens' Piano Concerto No. 2 in G Minor, Op. 22.

Also on the program are Jean-Fery Rebel - From Les Elemens (CCO Premiere) LE CHAOS, which represents the formation of earth elements from cosmic chaos. Hans-Peter Preu, brother of Maestro Preu, has created a world premiere piece entitled KEPLER'S COSMOS, based on a concept that links planetary movement and music. CCO musicians will represent planets circling the sun.

Wolfgang Mozart's Jupiter Symphony No. 41 in C Major, K.551 will also be on the program, followed by a tribute to the late rock legend David Bowie with his piece Space Oddity.

SUMMERMUSIK is offering a variety of concert experiences in August. CCO fans will be able to attend full chamber orchestra concerts at SCPA's Corbett Theater. SUMMERMUSIK will also present a Sunday afternoon matinee three concert series held at 4 p.m. in various venues.

A Little Afternoon Musik: Moonlight Sonata opens on Sunday, August 13 at 4 p.m. in the Drake Planetarium. Program includes pianist Ran Dank and his CCM students performing Ludwig van Beethoven - From Piano Sonata No. 14 in C-sharp Minor, Op. 27, No. 2 - Moonlight Sonata.

Also on the program are Johannes Brahms - From Clarinet Trio in A Minor, Op. 114; Cesar Franck - From Sonata in A Major for Violin and Piano; Frederic Chopin's Polonaise in A-flat Major, Op. 53; Mozart's Sonata in C Major for Piano Four Hands, KV 521. Paul Schoenfeld's Café Music concludes the program.

Chamber Crawl will round out the listener's experience. Death by Chocolate will be held on Friday, August 11 at 7:30 p.m. at The Cabaret at Below Zero. A string quartet will perform such pieces as Robert Lowry's Shall We Gather at the River, Felix Mendelssohn - From String Quartet No. 6 in F Minor followed by Franz Schubert - From String Quartet No. 14 in D Minor (Death and the Maiden). Leonard Cohen's Hallelujah closes the concert.

Other programs will be offered throughout the month of August. Single tickets are $25 for adults and $10 for children/students. Flex pass is $85; festival pass is $205. For information and tickets call (513) 723-1182 or visit CCO online at

Cincinnati Chamber Orchestra is comprised of 32 professional musicians. It celebrated its 40th anniversary season in 2014. SUMMERMUSIK was launched in 2015. Preu joined the CCO in October, 2016.

Photograph of Preu provided.

Related Articles

From This Author Laura A. Hobson