Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

FAREWELL TO 1229:Bailiwick Bids Adieu To A Performance Space

Bailiwick Bids Adieu To A Performance Space In A Special One-Night Only Benefit


Fifteen Years of Great Musicals From POPE JOAN to HUNCHBACK.  


Bailiwick Repertory artists and friends will gather at the Bailiwick Arts Center , 1229 West Belmont, on December 29th to bid  FAREWELL TO 1229: Fifteen Years of Great Musicals from POPE JOAN to HUNCHBACK.   The special benefit performance features musical selections POPE JOAN, PARADE, A MAN OF NO IMPORTANCE, DR. SEX, Q, KISS OF THE SPIDER WOMAN, JERRY SPRINGER – THE OPERA, THE CHRISTMAS SCHOONER and THE HUNCHBACK OF NOTRE DAME.


Among the featured performers who will appear are George Andrew Wolff, Dana Tretta, Jeremy Rill, Ryan Lanning, Nicholas Foster, Nancy Kolton, Harmony France, Alanda Coon, Kate Garassino, and Gerald Richardson. Our emcee for the evening is two-time Jeff Award nominee Kevin Mayes.


A 6:00 reception will feature food and cash bar in the lobby as we share memories and stories of our time in this space.  At 7:15 we will move into the Mainstage for an 80-minute program featuring selections from our classic musical productions, and we will move at 9:00 across the street to Joey's Brickhouse for an open mic of backstage stories and behind the scenes hilarity from the 1229 years. VIP tickets include reserved seating and program recognition, and are $75. General admission is $50.  There are also $25 tickets for industry professionals.


Musical selections featured will include classic solo and choral performances from PARADE, JERRY SPRINGER – THE OPERA, THE HUNCHBACK OF NOTRE DAME, A MAN OF NO IMPORTANCE, and KISS OF THE SPIDER WOMAN.  We will also hear selections from the world premiers that made such an impact in this space, including Christopher Moore's POPE JOAN, Dan Martin and Michael Biello's Q, Larry Bortniker and Sally Deering's DR SEX, and John Reeger and Julie Shannon's THE CHRISTMAS SCHOONER. 


Musical directors for the evening are Jeff Award Winners Robert Ollis and Alan Bukowiecki.


During Bailiwick's 15 years at 1229 West Belmont, Bailiwick produced over 400 works in its Primary Series and Community Initiatives including the Pride Series, Deaf Bailiwick Artists, and Second Sex Series. (This does not include the annual selections of one-act plays in the Directors Festival.)


During this period Bailiwick received Jeff Awards for Best Production of a musical for JERRY SPRINGER THE OPERA and THE HUNCHBACK OF NOTRE DAME (both 2008), and earned Jeff Awards or Nominations for Best Play or Musical for A Man of No Importance, Dr. Sex, Kiss of the Spider Woman, Parade, Pope Joan, and  ANGELS IN AMERica: Part II, (co-produced with The Hypocrites).


Directors recognized by the Jeff Committee for their work done during the Bailiwick Arts Center years include Susan Fingue, Scott Ferguson and David Zak (six times). Musical Directors so recognized include Jimmy Morehead, Gary Powell, Christopher Moore, and Dan Stetzel, while  Robert Ollis and Alan Bukowiecki each earned two nods in this category.


Artists recognized by the Jeff Committee for Best New Work or Adaptation performed here include Larry Bortniker and Sally Deering for DR. SEX, LanDon Coleman for PICTURE THIS, Christopher Moore for POPE JOAN, Brad Simmons and Stephen DeGhelder for A KISS FROM ALEXANDER, Joseph Sobol for IN THE DEEP HEART'S CORE, Jeremy Wechsler for HENRY VI: BLOOD OF A NATION, Michael Murphy for SIN: A CARDINAL DEPOSED, and Anne V. McGravie, Dwight Okita, Nicholas A. Patricca and David Zak for THE HIROSHIMA PROJECT. After Dark Award winners for Best New Work include John Reeger and Julie Shannon for THE CHRISTMAS SCHOONER, Jeffrey Bruner for KATRINA: STATE OF EMERGENCY, and Dan Martin and Michael Biello for BREATHE.


Performers recognized by the Jeff Committee for their work in this space include Jamie Axtell (twice), Amy Arbizzani, Jason Bowen, Joshua Campbell, Wellesley Chapman, Don Denton, Nicholas Foster, Scott Gryder, Tom Higgins, Gerald Kelal, Nancy Kolton, Naomi Landman, Ryan Lannnig, Sarah Laue, Carol Luat, Michael Mahler, Kevin Mayes (twice), Scott O'Brien, Sean Reid, Jim Sherman, Jeffrey Solomon, Jeremy Rill, and Stan Q. Wash. Bailiwick earned Best Ensemble recognition for CHORPUS CHRISTI, DR. SEX, THE HIROSHIMA PROJECT, and PARADE.
 For tickets and reservations call 773 883 1090 or order on-line at
Ticket requests can also be sent via email to

Related Articles View More Chicago Stories   Shows

From This Author Chicago News Desk