WGN America's MANHATTAN Hits Over 2.2 Million Total Viewers with L+3

WGN America's MANHATTAN Hits Over 2.2 Million Total Viewers with L+3

WGN America's critically acclaimed drama "Manhattan" increased its audience in Live + 3 viewing for last Sunday's premiere night, growing to more than 2.2 million Total Viewers (+24%), 796,000 Adults 25-54 (+31%) and 634,000 Adults 18-49 (+38%), for its three-play gross telecasts on WGN America and 14 of Tribune's local stations. The telecast aired in all of Tribune's 33 markets; however, the remaining 19 markets do not receive daily demographic data. WGN America, Tribune's (TRBAA:OTC) flagship entertainment network, covers 61.7% of U.S. households.

"We are very pleased with the critical reception as well as the audience turnout for 'Manhattan' and see it as a significant step forward in establishing WGN America as a destination for high-quality programming," said Matt Cherniss, president and general manager, WGN America and Tribune Studios.

The series debut of "Manhattan" on WGN America lifted to nearly 1.8 million Total Viewers (+26%), 605,000 Adults 25-54 (+35%) and 471,000 Adults 18-49 (+44%), during three combined airings on the network (9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT, 10:10 p.m. ET / 7:10 p.m. PT, 12:00 a.m. ET / 9:00 p.m. PT).

The "Manhattan" premiere telecast on WGN America at 9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT, grew to 1.1 million Total Viewers (+19%), 282,000 Adults 18-49 (+21%) and 379,000 Adults 25-54(+15%) in Live +3 DVR viewing over Live + Same Day. The performance of the 9 p.m. telecast represents a solid +253% increase over the network's season-to-date time period average among Total Viewers in Live + 3 viewing.

WGN America is available in 71.4 million U.S. homes, and has only a single feed, making for an early West Coast premiere at 6 p.m. PT.

Episode two of "Manhattan," "The Prisoner's Dilemma" airs this SUNDAY, August 3 at its regular time, 10 p.m. ET / 9 p.m. CT on WGN America.

Created and written by Sam Shaw ("Masters of Sex") and directed by Emmy Award-winning director Thomas Schlamme ("The West Wing"), "Manhattan" is produced by Lionsgate Television, Skydance Television and Tribune Studios.

"Manhattan" is set against the backdrop of the greatest race against time in the history of Science the mission to build the world's first atomic bomb. The series follows the brilliant but flawed scientists and their families in Los Alamos as they attempt to coexist in a world where secrets and lies infiltrate every aspect of their lives.

The ensemble cast of "Manhattan" includes John Benjamin Hickey ("The Big C," "The Good Wife") as Frank Winter; Olivia Williams ("Rushmore," "The Ghost Writer") as Liza Winter; Daniel Stern ("Home Alone," "Home Alone 2") as Glen Babbit; Ashley Zukerman ("Rush") as Charlie Isaacs; Rachel Brosnahan ("House of Cards") as Abby Isaacs; Katja Herbers ("De Storm") as Helen Prins; Alexia Fast ("Jack Reacher") as Callie Winter; Christopher Denham ("Argo," "Shutter Island") as Jim Meeks; Harry Lloyd ("Game of Thrones") as Paul Crosley; Michael Chernus ("The Big C," "Orange Is The New Black") as Louis "Fritz" Fedowitz; and Eddie Shin ("Men of a Certain Age") as Sid Liao.

"Manhattan" is executive produced by Sam Shaw, Thomas Schlamme, David Ellison, Dana Goldberg, Marcy Ross and Dustin Thomason. The series is filmed on location in New Mexico.

Related