The Youngest to Release SEE IT THROUGH This October

"What do they say about the best laid plans?" After one listen to the The Youngest's sophomore effort, the band's wary lyric proves an apt bellwether for their generation's growing anxiety. Thirteen unified tracks roar with sonic energy, colored by the crashing nerves of adulthood and cementing the group as one of the most alluring young bands from America's heartland. Chicago's The Youngest will release See It Through on October 28.

Produced by Brian Deck (Iron & Wine, Modest Mouse, Josh Ritter), the album offers the textured mix, pulling emotion to the forefront of each track. The album's central vibe-its sweeping ornamentation and swirling keys-the band credits in part to their "secret weapon," Wilco's Pat Sansone, whose instrument production fills out each lush arrangement. Frontman Andrew Taetz (vocals, rhythm guitar, keys) identifies the album's inspiration as "half relationships and half society." See It Through's frenetic lyricism offers a reflection on both the current civil zeitgeist and modern youth's reaction to it. Anchored by an enthralling sound scape courtesy of John Wood (vocals, drums), Brendan Linnane (pedal steel, guitar) and John Quinn (guitar), the tracks drift from upbeat Americana to wistful folk to guitar-driven blues without ever moving arms-distance from their pensive through line. Highlights include the riffs of lead single "Built to Last", the brass bloom of opener "In Gulf", and the anxious ballad "Make Me New".

Lead single "Built To Last" is available now and offered as an instant-grat track when you pre-order the album through iTunes. Hear / Download / Share "Built to Last": Soundcloud | iTunes | Apple Music.

The group's reflective bravado stems naturally from men who came together on a desolate ranch in La Grange, Texas with little more than "a car full of instruments and six month supply of beans." The result of their isolation was the rustic 2014 debut Feral Road, which led to a cross-country tour and critical praise.

With a confident new album pressed, Taetz and his mates will launch an American tour in October, poised to voice the cool tension boiling within today's youth. Neither saccharine nor cynical, See It Through offers music for a generation hesitant about their country's future, but prepared to accept the mantle. And much like the album's lead single, this band seems built to last.

See It Through Track Listing
1 - In Gulf
2 - Built To Last
3 - Red Corolla Rental
4 - Bonnet Blues
5 - Kings Highway
6 - Big Brother's Love
7 - Make Me New
8 - Minyone
9 - Roots
10 - Growing Up
11 - Stairs
12 - See It Through
13 - Kind Like Gravity


Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You