Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Samuel Proffitt Shares Haunting Single 'Depth', New EP Out Now

Samuel Proffitt, critically acclaimed musician and producer, revealed his much anticipated EP The Grey Notebook last week. The EP follows the release of his latest songs Sladky Pt. 2, (co-written with Khai), and "Drown" ft. SKYLR which premiered via Noisey. The fifth track on the EP is the haunting Russian ballad "Depth", which Proffitt comments on below:

"It's time that we move past this 'us versus them' ideology and realize that Russia, and its culture, is beautiful, profound, and full of feeling. The Russian people create extraordinary works of art, music, and literature, so to write them off because of preconceived notions and a politically charged atmosphere would only serve to further cement this ever-growing close-mindedness. I was lucky enough to work with my favorite Russian band and vocalist, ????? (Naadia), on the final song on my EP, ??????? (Depth). I'm hoping that this song and video give people an insight into the complex beauty that I see in Russia and that it allows the audience to perceive Russia and its people in an entirely new light."

Written and recorded across the globe - New York, Boston, Moscow, Mexico, and British Columbia - the EP is a five track collection featuring hit singles "Andre" ft. Josh Jacobson and "Never The Same" ft. Khai. As Samuel puts it "the story is always the most important, but there isn't only one way to tell it, it doesn't have to be cohesive in the normative sense". Although each track on The Grey Notebook possesses its own story sonically, lyrically, and visually, there exists a connection that brings everything to life as if in chapters of a book.

Proffitt's debut EP Blue Notebook No. 10, released in 2015, garnered praise from the likes of Vice/Noisey and Indie Shuffle. Samuel's musical focus began early on with songwriting and poetry, which further fueled an obsession with storytelling as intensified by heavy background in Russian literature and philosophy, which he is currently studying in pursuit of his PhD at Brown University. His world, riddled with allusions to Gogol, Bulgakov, Vvedensky, and Kharms, is inflamed by the continually blurred boundary between dreams and reality.

The Grey Notebook EP is both haunting and inspiring. With the penetrating chill and lucidity of a winter's night, Proffitt's music is a window into something more - something elusive, intimate, and raw.

Listen/Share The Grey Notebook EP

The Grey Notebook EP Tracklisting
1. Andre ft. Josh Jacobson
2. Never The Same ft. Khai
3. Drown ft. SKYLR
4. Sladky Pt. 2
5. ??????? (Depth) ft. ?????

Facebook | Twitter | SoundCloud

Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You