Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Reese Wynans, of Double Trouble, Releases CROSSFIRE Music Video

Reese Wynans, of Double Trouble, Releases CROSSFIRE Music Video

Rock & Roll Hall of Fame member and world-renowned Nashville-based keyboardist Reese Wynans recently announced his first-ever solo albumSweet Release, a collection of songs honoring a paramount selection of blues-rock legends. The long anticipated album comes following a career that's spanned over 50 years and literally hundreds of historical collaborations. Along with the announcement came the first single "Crossfire", a tribute to the legacy of Stevie Ray Vaughan and Wynans' work with Double Trouble, featuring the iconic Sam Moore of Sam & Dave on vocals. Today, Wynans shares the video for "Crossfire" with behind-the-scenes footage from the studio recordings. "Crossfire" is available now as a free song download on Reese and Joe's websites ( and jbonamassa.comrespectively).

"Playing music with Stevie Ray Vaughan & Double Trouble for five years was an outrageous experience. I loved every minute of it," shares Wynans. "It was a real treat getting to play a couple of our old songs with Tommy Shannon and Chris Layton. When we were writing this, someone said it reminded them of a Sam & Dave groove. Joe suggested we ask Sam Moore to sing it."

Wynans expanded on his time in the studio and the Sweet Release project in an exclusive interview with Billboard for the premiere of the "Crossfire" video today.

Scan the history books and Wynans is there on every page: a vital strand of rock 'n' roll DNA, present at a thousand cultural flashpoints. Over the last five decades, you might have found him cutting his teeth with the early nucleus of the Allman Brothers Band or taking the stage with Boz Scaggs. Maybe you remember him bringing on the rise of Outlaw Country in Austin with Jerry Jeff Walker or saving the '80s blues scene with Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame inductees Stevie Ray Vaughan & Double Trouble or most recently bringing his blues to the people with Joe Bonamassa. Adding his thumbprint on piano and B3, Reese has worked with the likes of Larry Carlton, Delbert McClinton, Los Lonely Boys, Joe Ely, Doug Sahm, Brooks & Dunn, Trisha Yearwood, Martina McBride, Hank Williams Jr., Buddy Guy - and many more. Not to mention, his roughly 500 live shows with Willie Nelson, unforgettable performance with Captain Beyond for the Sufficiently Breathless record, and three albums with Carole King.

"These songs are windows back into different eras and different times of my career," explains Wynans. "It's a collection of the songs I've played with musicians in the past, and it shines a light on blues artists that I think need a little bit more recognition."

Sweet Release feels like a musician coming home. Wynans was already a familiar face at Ocean Way: the Nashville studio where he'd previously added fairy-dust to endless tracks for other artists. And when sessions began for his own solo album, it was a joy to reconnect with the Double Trouble rhythm section of Tommy Shannon (bass) and Chris Layton (drums) - plus modern guitar great Kenny Wayne Shepherd and of course the famed guitar skills of Joe Bonamassa.

Throughout his celebrated career, the one omission on Wynans' résumé was that this fabled keys man had never released a solo record - until now. Sweet Release is a glorious collision of stellar musicianship, classic material given fresh mojo, and a glittering roll-call of star guests that confirms the deep respect Wynans commands on the scene.

Watch Sweet Release behind-the-scenes footage at

For more information on Sweet Release, visit

Sweet Release Tracklisting:

  1. Crossfire
  2. Say What
  3. That Driving Beat
  4. You're Killing My Love
  5. Sweet Release
  6. Shape I'm In
  7. Hard To Be
  8. Riviera Paradise
  9. Take The Time
  10. So Much Trouble
  11. I've Got The Right To Be Blue
  12. Soul Island
  13. Blackbird

More Hot Stories For You