Library Foundation Opens Nominations for 2013 Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award

A call for nominations for the 2013 Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award opens on Feb. 1 and extends through March 22, 2013. The award is a program of The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation and recognizes the contributions of Indiana authors to the literary landscape in Indiana and across the nation. It is funded by the generosity of The Glick Fund, a fund of Central Indiana Community Foundation.

The goal of the Award is to elevate the written arts in Indiana, inspiring Hoosiers' love of reading and drawing greater attention to "home-grown" literary greats. The award celebrates authors whose quality work has made, or has the potential to make, a lasting public impact.

The Indiana Authors Award invites involvement beginning with the nomination process and continues throughout the year with outreach to organizations serving readers and writers and an interactive website, culminating with a day of free public programs and a ticketed Award Dinner on Oct. 26, 2013 at the Central Library in Indianapolis.

Nomination forms are available until March 22 at The nomination process is quick, easy and free of charge. Complete information and eligibility guidelines are included on the nomination forms. New this year, authors previously nominated in the past four years will be considered again for the 2013 Awards. To provide additional comments for a previously nominated author, email

Any published writer who was born in Indiana or who has lived in Indiana for at least five consecutive years is eligible for nomination. An eight-member, statewide award panel will select winners in three categories from the publicly nominated authors:

  • National Author - $10,000 prize: A writer with Indiana ties, but whose work is known and read throughout the country. National authors will be evaluated on their entire body of work.
  • Regional Author - $7,500 prize: A writer who is well-known and respected throughout the state of Indiana. Regional authors will be evaluated on their entire body of work.
  • Emerging Author - $5,000 prize: A writer who has published no more than two books during his/her lifetime. The title(s) must have been published within the last 10 years. Emerging authors will be evaluated on these specific works.

In addition to a cash prize, each author's Indiana hometown public library will receive a grant of $2,500 from the Library Foundation.

"This esteemed group of judges does an outstanding job in reviewing and selecting award recipients. We have been so pleased with the hard work they've put in and the results of their efforts. The Indiana Authors Award not only honors excellent writers, it also inspires young people to consider writing as a career," said Marianne Glick of The Glick Fund.

Last year's awards included a public program celebrating Indiana authors and an award dinner raising nearly $89,000 for the Library Foundation. At the dinner, John Green was presented with the National Author award while Barbara Shoup received the Regional Author award and Christopher Coake received the Emerging Author award.

To submit a 2013 nomination or to learn more, contact The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation at (317) 275-4700 or visit

SOURCE Indianapolis Public Library Foundation

Related Articles View More Books Stories

More Hot Stories For You