Click Here for More Articles on 2010 AWARDS SEASON

Tony Watch Begins: Committee Holds First Meeting on December 10, 2009

Tony Watch Begins: Committee Holds First Meeting on December 10, 2009

A rep for the Tony Awards has revealed that The Tony Awards Administration Committee will hold its first meeting of the 2009 - 2010 season on December 10.

The Antoinette Perry Awards for Excellence in Theatre, more commonly known as the Tony Awards, recognize achievement in live American theatre. The awards are for Broadway productions and performances, and an award is given for regional theatre. A discretionary non-competitive Special Tony Award and the Tony Honors for Excellence in Theatre are also given.

The Committee is comprised of 24 members.  The American Theatre Wing and the Broadway League, the organizations that present the Tony Awards, each designate ten representatives, while the Dramatists Guild, Actors' Equity Association, United Scenic Artists, and the Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers are each represented by one.

The 2009-2010 Administration Committee includes Emanuel Azenberg, Roger Berlind, Ted Chapin, John Connolly, Bill Craver, Dasha Epstein, Mallory Factor, Cecilia Friederichs, Gary Garrison, Philip Getter, Sondra Gilman, Doug Leeds, Paul Libin, Margo Lion, Jo Sullivan Loesser, Kevin McCollum, James L. Nederlander, James M. Nederlander, Laura Penn, Michael Price, Charlotte St. Martin, Howard Sherman, Philip Smith and David Stone. Alternates include Billie Allen, Melvin Bernhardt, Michael David, Brian Drutman, Alan Eisenberg, John Gore, Barry Grove, Fredda Harris, Mike Isaacson, Nina Lannan, Michael McBride, Judith O. Rubin, Thomas Schumacher and Ralph Sevush.

This committee "determines eligibility for nominations in all awards categories, reviews the rules governing the awards, and appoints the Nominating Committee. It may, at its discretion, bestow [four] non-competitive Tony Awards: Special Tony Awards and the Regional Theatre Tony Award; as well as Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre and the Isabelle Stevenson Award."

All shows eligible for a 2009 - 2010 Tony nomination must have opened on Broadway by April 29, 2010. Now in their 64h year, the 2009 - 2010 Tony Award ceremony will take place on June 13, 2010, broadcast live from Radio City Music Hall (its home since 1997) beginning at 8pm on CBS.

Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss/White Cherry Entertainment are executive producers of the 2010 Tony Awards, which is presented by the American Theatre Wing and the Broadway League.

For more information, visit www.tonyawards.com

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...