The Daytime Emmys Announce Changes, Including Removal of 'Outstanding Musical Performance'

Article Pixel
The Daytime Emmys Announce Changes, Including Removal of 'Outstanding Musical Performance'

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced many changes for the 47th Annual Daytime Emmy® Awards. "Outstanding Musical Performance in a Daytime Program" has been eliminated.

The category was introduced in 2016, and it was originally called "Outstanding Musical Performance in a Talk Show/Morning Program." The first winner was singer Rachel Platten for her performance of "Fight Song." In 2017, Cynthia Erivo & the Cast of The Color Purple won for their performance of "The Color Purple" on the Today Show. In 2018, Ben Platt & the Cast of Dear Evan Hansen won for their Today Show performance of "You Will Be Found." The most recent winner of the award was Cast of The Band's Visit for their performance of "Answer Me" on the Today Show.

Watch the three Emmy winning Broadway performances below!

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences have also announced many other changes, including new inclusive language, new categories, and category changes.

Inclusive Language & Other Changes

Performers eligible in gendered acting categories are encouraged to enter THE ONE that best fits their gender identity. For the Primetime Emmys, administered by NATAS's sister Academy, non-binary performer Asia Kate Dillon entered Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series in keeping with "actor" being a historically non-gendered word. The Daytime Emmys will honor the category all eligible performers select to best represent themselves.

Additionally, what were formerly separate Younger Actor and Younger Actress in a Drama Series categories, respectively, have been combined into a singular non-gendered Younger Performer in a Drama Series. This new category, along with the previously existing non-gendered children's and animation performer categories, gives Daytime the opportunity to assess over time the effects of both methodologies with regards to gender in the awards show space. NATAS is continuing to seek guidance from LGBTQ community leaders, including GLAAD, regarding the new policy and language.

"The changes we have instituted for this year's Daytime Emmy Awards reflect the increasing diversity of the programs and individuals honored, as well as that of daytime television's many fans," said Adam Sharp, President & CEO, NATAS. "Our Academy is determined to remain on the forefront of inclusiveness in our industry and we're grateful to GLAAD and other organizations and voices who give their time and wisdom to help shape our competitions."

"Transgender, non-binary, and gender non-conforming people consistently find ourselves on the outside in Hollywood, in a variety of ways," said Scott Turner Schofield, the first openly transgender actor on a daytime drama (The Bold and the Beautiful). "This thoughtful inclusion shows NATAS paying attention, listening, and doing the work of increasing inclusion-which will increase acceptance in Hollywood and beyond. I know I am not the only one who feels more proud than ever to be a member of the daytime community because of this positive change."

To account for competition growth and emerging industry trends, the Daytime Emmys will be adding, breaking out, and/or changing eligibility in several different sectors. The newly formed Limited Performance in a Daytime Program welcomes performers from non-dramas who appear onscreen for 25% or less of a program or season and will allow leading performances to compete in the re-named Principal Performance in a Daytime Program category. Six craft categories formerly exclusive to broadcast dramas will now also accept entries from digital dramas.

The Daytime Emmys is introducing three brand new categories: Outstanding Young Adult Program, Outstanding Picture Editing for an Animated Program, and Outstanding Special Effects Costumes, Makeup and Hairstyling.

The 47th Daytime Emmy® Awards will take place at the Pasadena Convention Center in Pasadena, CA in three separate shows on Friday, June 12th, Saturday, June 13th and Sunday, June 14th.

Related Articles

From This Author TV News Desk